Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Noted

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 13, 2006
Hi guys

I'm a graphic design student and will be purchasing a new iMac. I'm struggling to decide whether I need the 3.06ghz 24" iMac or not. Or if I should go for the 2.66 20". I've got a 20 inch monitor right now hooked up to my older mac and it serves me well but a bigger one would be nicer. The only thing I'm worried about is the screen being too big and straining my eyes seeing as I use the computer a lot. Do I really need a 24 inch and will the 3.06ghz make that much of a difference from the 2.66? I will be boosting it to 4gb when I purchase it.

Thanks

brn2ski00

macrumors 68020
Aug 16, 2007
MA
24" for the lone reason that the screen is bigger and a bit better quality than the 20". You will appreciate the extra real estate when you have 3 million windows open (fyi - use spaces to combat this) and cannot see your desktop!

tersono

macrumors 68000
Jan 18, 2005
UK
I frequently work with both 24" and 20" iMacs, and whilst the 20 is still a nice machine I'd say without hesitation go for the 24" The screen is vastly superior quality.

jciapara

macrumors regular
Jan 25, 2008
24"

Go with the 24" You won't regret it, I purchased mine couple of months ago and I still love the size and being able to have multiple applications visible at the same time.

xhambonex

macrumors 6502a
Apr 17, 2008
If you are a graphic design student, wouldn't you be interested in something with a matte screen, that gives you a professional accurate color display vs. the glossy of an iMac?
Sidenote: I am an industrial design student, I got a 2.4ghz MBP 15.4" and am planning on getting a monitor or hdtv for extra screen room. Having the laptop is great because I can take it with me to studio and am not tied down to working in one space all the time, especially if the weather is nice.:)

MattZani

macrumors 68030
Apr 20, 2008