256 VRAM in 2.2 SR MBP ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MoeOz, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. MoeOz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    Well i've just finished a Hardware TEST Using the original Mac OS X CD & it shows that my machine have 256 VRAM .. however all the 2.2 SR MBP comes with 128 VRAM installed .. so i'm not really sure if its just a mistake but i believe such test should be more specific & my computer shows ONLY 128 VRAM still .. anyway its not a big deal but i just wanted to share maybe someone had the same thing or i could be wrong after all .. thanks .
     
  2. brandonshough macrumors regular

    brandonshough

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    It has 128MB, it's possible, it's the TurboCache kicking in (Nvidia's way of saying shared RAM).

    Also please stop saying SR MBP. Please specify Merom or Peryn.
     
  4. lauph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    30 mins from Cupertino
    #4
    I dont see anything wrong using SR MBP in his case, since Penryn has no 2.2GHz option...
     
  5. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #5
    I have he same machine and noticed the same thing when I ran Hardware Test. I assume that's it's a bug in that program.
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    Nvidia doesn't ship a 128 meg 8600GT, only 256 and 512. Apple had to special order it, so they kept the board the same but just pulled off 128 of it. So..that's why it says 256.

    what i was told a while ago on this forum actually somewhere
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    That's interesting. I would think the driver would detect how much VRAM is there.
     
  8. kevo0822 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    In that case, you should request that Apple stop differentiating between old iMacs through the presence of iSight... or USB... or SuperDrive.

    To the OP- I also have a 2.2 SR MBP and when I run Hardware Test, it tells me I have 256 VRAM. It's just a glitch in the Hardware Test software.
     
  9. MoeOz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007

Share This Page