2560x1440 on External Display via Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Miltz, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. Miltz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Has anyone been able to use the Apple USB-C HDMI adapter to connect to a external monitor with a resolution higher than 1920x1080. I have a 27" 2560x1440 monitor and I want to make sure the adapter will support that via HDMI cable on the 2015 Macbook. PLEASE DO NOT just tell me what apple's or intel's site says. I want to hear from people who ACTUALLY have tried it. Thank you. ;)
     
  2. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    good to the point question, I am also interested in the answer.


     
  3. kave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Good, question, on the older models nothing over 1920x1080 using hdmi worked.
     
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    There is a recent thread where someone hooked it to a display that was greater than 1080p. They had pics. Check the last few pages.

    The main thing is the display also has to support greater than 1080P via HDMI.
     
  5. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

    ctyrider

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #6
    Yes, but would be good for someone to actually confirm they are able to drive 1440p display via HDMI.

    Surely someone must have tried that?
     
  6. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #7
    it is a little ridiculous they are having such supply issues with the accessories. It is not like they didn't know they were going to need them.
     
  7. Golfer00ksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #8
    I just received the AV Multiport Adapter in 4 business days by store pickup. I was quoted 5-7 weeks when I ordered last week. It seems they are being ultra conservative with the back order times.
     
  8. macinla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    2560x1600 Dell U3014 via HDMI works

    I have a Dell U3014 30" monitor and I'm running at full resolution via the Apple adapter - so I can confirm that 2560x1600 is working. Given that, I assume that 2560x1440 would work as well.

    I've noticed some issues with the display not coming back after waking the computer from sleep. I've had to manually toggle the inputs on the monitor to get it to "wake up". Doesn't happen all the time, but it's annoying the times it the screen doesn't "wake up" immediately.
     
  9. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

    ctyrider

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #10
    That's great news. Wake issues aside - how's the performance? I assume you're running external display alongside with internal retina display?
     
  10. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #11
    Thanks for that. I'll be trying to run my 3008 monitor through it, have never used HDMI on that (always used TB->DP cable). Might be worth buying the adaptor in that case...
     
  11. macinla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Performance is better than I expected. Moving around windows quickly on the external display is no "better or worse" than moving around windows on the internal rMB display. I don't do any heavy stuff though. Office, PHP development, browsers etc.

    And yes, running both external and internal at the same time. Internal at 1440x900, external at 2560x1600. rMB is 1.2GHz model.

    ----------

    I think as long as your monitor supports your intended resolution via HDMI, you should be good. Some (older) monitors only go to 1080p over HDMI (from some research I made before I got my rMB). I was skeptic if 2560x1600 would work on mine, but it does indeed.
     
  12. mikeray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #13
    How are you connecting to it? Are you using a simple hdmi cable ?
     
  13. macinla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Yes, regular HDMI cable. I don't know what it's "rating" or spec is though. Thinking of ordering a newer cable supporting HDMI 2.0 or whatever the latest is to see if that fixes some of the wake-up issues.
     
  14. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #15
    Thanks for this advice. I actually ordered a second one for in store pick up yesterday. i just got charged, and it is preparing to ship. I canceled my home delivery.
     
  15. palmwangja macrumors regular

    palmwangja

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #16
    Thanks for the report, was it 30Hz or 60Hz by the way? :eek:
     
  16. macinla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17
    60Hz
     
  17. palmwangja macrumors regular

    palmwangja

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015

Share This Page