256MB how tight is this code.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by hugodrax, May 2, 2010.

  1. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #1
    How is it that they can squeeze this much in 256MB ram.

    I guess 18M for frame buffer. (24bit)

    The OS takes up 32MB?

    128MB for Texture buffers?

    78MB for Application data?

    Anyone have an idea how this whole thing breaks down. How much ram do Apps typically take?
     
  2. paulisme macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #2
    Efficiency is a beautiful thing, enabled by the simplicity of the iPhone OS and the iPad hardware. It just goes to show how much power is wasted in a desktop OS like Windows and why low-power tablets will never function properly with one.
     
  3. dread macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #3
    According to sb setting on my iPhone I have about 140 mb of ram free with safari, the phone and mail running in the background. Some apps take up 50 mb. Apples stuff is very efficient but some of the app are hungry for ram.
     
  4. Vizin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    It's even more amazing considering the original iPhone and the 3G only had 128mb, and ran the same OS.
     
  5. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #5
    Lots of memory leaks though. Apple Apps stay in memory even when closed.
     
  6. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #6
    That's not a memory leak; that's Apple keeping their apps in memory so they can load as fast as possible.
     
  7. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Except when it doesn't work. Constantly reloading Safari tabs is not a prime example of beautiful efficiency.

    But if Apple gave us a top flight product out of the gate, with 1gb of RAM and the fastest processor they could squeeze in, then it would be 2 years + before they could sell us upgraded models. Much better for them to trickle the tech to us and cash in again next year.
     
  8. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #8
    Assuming that tabs are reloading because there isn't enough RAM is absurd. It will probably be fixed in some update me thinks.
     
  9. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Actually you're right. It's probably more a function of video ram, or lack of. Although the iPhone used to do the same thing and they more or less fixed that. But there's a lot more screen to redraw on an ipad, so who knows.
     
  10. redman042 macrumors 68030

    redman042

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #10
    I think iPad Safari is not using RAM efficiently. Just jailbroke my new 3G and am monitoring RAM using SBSettings. Free RAM gets REAL low sometimes when browsing just a few pages, particularly complex ones like CNN. I've also found that even after closing all tabs, RAM sometimes stays low (<10 MB) until I manually kill the process. Then it jumps back up to 120 MB or so.

    I'm fully expecting (hoping) that OS 4 cleans some of this up. Maybe we'll get a point update before September to tidy up a few loose ends.
     

Share This Page