2600 ok in 3rd slot?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mercuric Oxide, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. Mercuric Oxide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I'm getting a double wide PC graphics card today and I want to put it in the first slot. I want the 2600 in the 3rd slot to minimize heat issues.

    Will the 2600 work with OSX fine in the 3rd slot? (is this an 8x lane?).

    I know that 4 2600's work fine but want to make sure that one will have full functionality when not in the 16x PCIe 2.0 slot.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ungraphic macrumors 6502a

    ungraphic

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2

    are only two out of the four PCIe slots 2.0 and the other two 1.0 on the mac pros?
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    The bottom two are 16x PCIe 2.0. The top two are 4x PCIe 1.1. Yes, it will work fine.
     
  4. ungraphic macrumors 6502a

    ungraphic

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Is it possible to install 4 Geforce 8800 GTs on the new (2008) mac pros?
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Nope, the power draw is too great. Two 8800 GT are possible, and that's what I'll be doing.
     
  6. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #6
    No. The power limit of 300W and the fact that there are only 2 PCI-E 2.0 slots limits it to 2.
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    They'll run on PCIe 1.1, won't they?
     
  8. ungraphic macrumors 6502a

    ungraphic

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    So even a single 8800 GT wont run under a pcie 1.0 slot on the new (2008) mac pros?
     

Share This Page