2600XT and/or 7300 cards in pre-08 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bmat, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. bmat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #1
    I have a non-early 08 mac pro, and it has a 7300, since I didn't spring for the 1900 video card. I want some improvement in performance immediately, but don't want to shell out $400 for the 1900 when I'll probably upgrade to the 8800 if and when it becomes backwards compatible. Mainly this is for Aperture usage.

    So, I saw the barefeats results of the 2600 on the non-early 08 Mac Pro and thought, given the cheap price, it would be an interim card. Now I have a couple of questions.

    (1) Can I use the 2600 in the fast slot and the 7300 in the lower slots.

    (2) Would that make sense to drive 2 Dell 2407s separately (is that possible, one for the 2600 and the other for the 7300), since wouldn't I not be splitting the vram then? Or does it make sense to just drive both with the 2600? Would there be no difference in performance?

    (3) Has anyone moved from a 7300 to a 2600 and found the difference just so negligible that it's not worth it (or run into problems).

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
  2. jemo07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #2
    Brian,

    I too am waiting for someone that has access to both card to try this in a 07 MacPro
    I have not tried the 2600 my self, but I did cross emails with a friend that has one in the 07 MP and he is satisfied with it.

    My main use is Aperture and CS3 with occasional video and Toon Boom, so the current gaming benchmarks don't provide the needed feedback for my needs. Let's hope someone in the forum could provide details if the secards can run concurrently . :confused:

    Regards.

    JM
     
  3. bmat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #3
    Well, I broke down and ordered it anyway. So I guess I will be the guinea pig is no one else has reported it with both cards/aperture/etc.
     
  4. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #4
    I don't use Aperture, but I have both an HD2600 XT and 7300 GT installed. I far prefer the ATI card to the Nvidia card. Your money was well spent.

    1. Yep. I have the HD2600 in slot 1 and the 7300 in slot 4.

    1. Sure, you can do that. Shouldn't have any issues.

    3. Nope. I much prefer the HD2600 to the 7300, though your mileage may vary.
     

Share This Page