Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

amalmic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2019
Hello,

I have a 27" 5K inch Imac (2017) and I am considering an Apple Cinema Display as a second monitor. I need to know from those of you guys who have the same setup how does the text look on the Cinema Display. Is the difference in screen resolution annoying? I am a translator and work only with text and translation software and I am very happy with the resolution of the 5K iMac.

Thought about buying a 21.5" iMac as a second monitor, but not sure if this would work.

Any recommendations regarding the model of the Cinema Display? Or other external, not so expensive, matte monitors?

My ideal setup would be to have 2 other small monitors.

Thank you all so much in advance!

Ledgem

macrumors 68020
Jan 18, 2008
Hawaii, USA
I have an older Apple Cinema Display in use on my wife's computer; never thought to try and pair it up with my 27" retina iMac. I get annoyed when I have to use her computer; heck, I get annoyed when I go to work and use the standard monitors there, too. High pixel density displays raise your standards. I respect that some people aren't overly bothered by it, though.