27" Apple Cinema Display - iSight not working anymore

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by /\/\, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. /\/\ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Yesterday, i received my new 27" ACD. This display is amazing! I use it on my Mac Pro 2008.

    No dead pixels, audio is working and iSight worked too.

    But after installing the "Software-Update for LED Cinema Display 1.0" my iSight is not working anymore!

    Only black video window in iChat and FaceTime. And the green LED next to the iSight is off.

    Seems that the iSight is not starting.

    What should I do?

    Thanks!
     
  2. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #2
    Try unplugging then replugging the display from a power outlet.
    It is known on these displays that there is a problem with USB features
     
  3. /\/\ thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Thanks for the message, but this has no effect.

    I think it's something with FaceTime. Sometimes iChat is saying "your camera is currently in use by another program" but FaceTime is closed and I am logged of from FaceTime.

    This is very strange. Seems that FaceTime is really a BETA.
     
  4. Doc750 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
  5. /\/\ thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    how can i full uninstall facetime? i tried the the FaceTime.dmg but there is no Uninstaller.app

    will be all files (processes) deleted when I drag&drop the app into trash?
     
  6. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #6
    yep, if not kill them in activity monitor
     
  7. /\/\ thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    ok, first of all thanks for all answers

    but I found the solution:

    I can not use my iSight in my Apple Cinema Display when EyeTV (with my EyeTV Hybrid) is running!

    When I first start iSight and afterwards EyeTV I get the following message:

    "Es ist nicht ausreichend USB 2.0-Bandbreite verfügbar. Bitte trennen Sie das Gerät von Ihrem Computer. Wenn das Problem weiter auftritt, starten Sie Ihren Computer neu."

    Something like:

    "There is not enough USB 2.0 bandwidth available. Please plug-off the device from your computer. If the problem still occurs, please restart your computer."

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Not enough USB 2.0 bandwidth? I have a Mac Pro!!!

    It's not a bug, it's a feature! :eek:

    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page