27"er and MBP

Discussion in 'iMac' started by NiuFengLe, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. NiuFengLe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #1
    Okay, I am getting a 27" iMac delivered to me pretty soon. I am wanting to use the 27"er as my external monitor for my Macbook Pro. I have looked around quite a bit on this subject and have not found any definite answers. Is there anyway to use the bluetooth mouse and keyboard with both systems? I do not want to have to go through the whole pairing process in the event that I have to do some work at home. I also do not have enough room at my desk to run the MBP open all the time, I need to keep it closed.

    I have seen two apps out there one called synergy and the other called teleport that may allow simultaneous use but it seems like they may not do exactly what I need.

    So is anyone using this combo out there and if so are you doing it with one keyboard and mouse (blue tooth ones that come with the iMac of course)?
     
  2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Hmm, it would have been better to get a decked out MBP and a 24" ACD...:D

    And no, I'm not sure you can do that, but it may be possible. Good luck!
     
  3. NiuFengLe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #3
    Already have the high 15" Macbook Pro. The new 27" i7 iMac is intended for gaming and entertainment. I have spent the last year trying to enjoy games on the MacBook Pro and to be honest it is quite painful. The thing gets way too hot, the fans are too loud, and the small screen is driving me crazy. However, I love the MBP, does everything that I need. If I am in a hotel I can play some games for a little while and keep myself occupied and with parallels installed I can run any business related windows apps that are not available for Mac OS.
     
  4. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    Good point. So if the iMac is for gaming only pretty much and the MacBook Pro for everything else why do you need to connect the MBP to the iMac screen? Is it for extra screen space while your working on your MBP?
     
  5. NiuFengLe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #5

    Yep, when I do CAD work I need the big screen. Trying to have the levels bar displayed and the quad view open on my CAD program means I have very little viewing real estate left. I also plan to use the iMac for photo and video editing as well as editing the company webpage.
     
  6. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    Ok, I'm sure there is a way to use the iMac screen without the computer itself. Perhaps Apple themselves might know? Its a clever setup, but its not a "plug n' play" sort of situation.:( Ask Apple themselves via your nearest Apple store. They, if anyone would know I reckon:D
     
  7. NiuFengLe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #7
    The nearest Apple store is in ShangHai I think. I am all the way down in GuangZhou. The guys at the authorized reseller in Hong Kong do not seem to know a whole lot.
     
  8. idesign245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #8
    I posted almost the same thread a few months ago and never really got a straight answer. I'd be interested to hear if anyone's figured this out yet. I'm surprised that there aren't more people using the iMac as an external monitor for their macbook pro's... certainly cheaper than the 24" LED display.
     
  9. hectigol macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
  10. idesign245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    The question isn't if you can use it as an external display, we already know that. The question is if you can use the mouse and keyboard from the iMac when the macbook pro is in clamshell mode.
     

Share This Page