27" i5 or i7?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lil.Monster, May 7, 2011.

1. lil.Monster macrumors newbie

Hi everyone.
    I just bought an iMac 27", 3.1 GHz i5 Quad-Core (the new high end model). However I was wondering if I should take it back now and get an i7 at 3.4 GHz? I just saw the geek-bench score for the i7 and was wondering if it is worth taking it back and paying another 240$ AUD for the i7. I think the i7 is considerably faster but seeing as I am only a student and do not really need the extra power do you think I should bother? It would really only 'future-proof' my machine.
    And also are you planing on buying a new iMac? Or are you going to wait for the next generation?
    Thank-you! :)

2. Vylen macrumors 65816

The hyper-threading that the i7 has isn't going to do you any good unless you do calculations, processing (photos and the like) or 3d rendering and not just small bits here and there, but lots of it - big batches of the stuff.

So, what are you doing with your iMac and what do you think you'll do with it in the next few years?

3. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

Lord Appleseed

If you dont plan on doing heavy video encoding or other CPU intensive tasks the i5 will be all you ever need and more.

4. lil.Monster thread starter macrumors newbie

Well just basic stuff like internet browsing and word processing and watching HD movies etc. I use boot-camp to game a lot tho and I occasionally play around in AfterEffects and some 3D applications. I don't use it for those intensive tasks very often so I know it will suffice. So yeah, just like normal student stuff. But I'm planning on keeping it for 3-4 years so I hope it is still good enough! I don't think I can be bothered to back it up, then repackage it and lug it down to the apple store, and then pay $240 to get the i7. But thanks for the help! :D

5. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

Lord Appleseed

It would be useless anyway, you would never ever need the power the i7 can provide.