27" Imac 4 x 1gb ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tcmacintosh, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. tcmacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #1
    Can i take out the 4gb ram installed and put it into my unibody macbook which only has 2gb of ram and then put the 2 x 1gb stick into my imac and i also have 2 spare ddr3 1gb sticks from my brothers unibody mbp from when he upgraded his ram. so all up i will have 4 x 1gb sticks. Would i get the same performance?
     
  2. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

    tofagerl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #2
    Uhm... If I parse your question correctly, you have atm 4x1gb, and will receive 2x2gb ram in the iMac, and you wonder if you can switch them?
    Then the answer _should_ be yes. In theory. At least, you can try.
    I know they're all DDR3 SO-DIMM, but the specs might vary a bit.
     
  3. Inno macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #3
    How serviceable is the RAM on the new iMac 27's? On the unboxing it looked like there was a pretty easily removable tray at the bottom?

    If I bought a 27 with the stock 4GB, could I easily just pop this in the other 2 slots for 12GB? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...213&cm_re=DDR3_SO-DIMM-_-20-231-213-_-Product
    This is just an example as a sanity check of the right part.

    Thanks.
     
  4. tcmacintosh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #4
    Yes, I think you phrased the question a lot better! I typed that last one very quickly. Okay well I will try it out when i have time, Hopefully there is the same performance.

    Thanks for your responses
     
  5. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #5
    4+4=8 not 12
     
  6. Inno macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #6
    That's correct, I am getting ahead of myself. I planned on popping two 4GB in there, but that would be in a year or so, when hopefully, they aren't insanely high.
     
  7. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #7
    my plan to. Looked at ordering 4X4gb but it was like 950$ the cheapest i could find. just stuck with 4X2gb for total of 8gb. Think that will be fine for now with what i do. Can't wait till my i7 27' gets here.
     
  8. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

    tofagerl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #8
    Yeah, normal 4gb chips are effing expensive, let's not ever TALK about SO-DIMMs :(
     
  9. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #9
    what is SO-DIMM?
     

Share This Page