27" iMac Fushion Drive Setup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Failurbydesign, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. Failurbydesign macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I have recently opened up my late 2012 iMac and installed a OWC 240gb ssd and upgraded the HDD to a 2tb hybrid drive. My questions is if i make a fusion drive out of the installed drives, can i restore a CCC backup to the fusion drive without having an issue?
     
  2. JeffyTheQuik macrumors 68020

    JeffyTheQuik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC and Everett, WA
    #2
    I'm not sure if you can "make" a fusion drive. I thought those appeared as a Hard Drive to the Mac, but the "fusing" was internal to the drive.

    I think that the hybrid drive is your Fusion Drive.

    Could you tell me what a CCC backup is? I haven't heard of that term before.
     
  3. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #3
    If OS X detects the configuration and gives you the option to create a Fusion drive (and I think it may), then you will have a single, logical volume, "Macintosh HD." Since it's treated as a single volume, you probably won't have a problem restoring a CCC backup to it.
     
  4. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    How to create a fusion drive



    CCC is Carbon Copy Cloner, it's like SuperDuper!
    --- Post Merged, Apr 19, 2016 ---
    I figured as much. Even if i fused the drive together and did a fresh install, i would still use my backup (CCC) and migrate all the data over.

    Thanks!!
     
  5. JeffyTheQuik macrumors 68020

    JeffyTheQuik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC and Everett, WA
    #5
    Yeah, I researched it (thank you!) and that looks interesting!
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    Once you've created the fusion drive, I don't see any problem with restoring from a CCC cloned backup. Just "clone it back over".

    However --
    Have you considered running the two drives as "standalone" drives?
    Doing so will guarantee that the SSD -always- runs at "full SSD speeds".

    You'll have to give a little thought as to how you wish to arrange things.
    I would suggest that large file libraries (music, movies, pictures) be kept on the HDD.
    OS, apps, accounts (less the large file libraries) on the SSD...
     
  7. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #7
    Yes, as a CCC backup isn't a true bit-for-bit clone, you should be able to restore without any issues.
     
  8. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    I have. Still not too sure how I want to go about it. I already put a 2tb hybrid drive in, it helped a bit, but having more space is nice.
     
  9. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #9
    I've been using a Fusion Drive setup for almost a year and a half, and I have to say Apple's implementation is one of the best. It's completely transparent in the background and keeps everything used the most on the SSD, that includes the OS and apps. I've never noticed any real slowdown, but I have my massive iTunes library on an external, so I can't really give any insight there.
     
  10. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #10
    How is boot time?
     
  11. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #11
    Since the OS is on the SSD, it's incredibly fast, usually under 10 seconds.
     
  12. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #12
    Cool. I might upgrade the hard drive (again) since i don't want to keep opening this thing up every year..haha
     
  13. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #13
    Well, put the SSD in...what a pain! Then this happened....super bummed. I was so gentle with the screen too. [​IMG]
     
  14. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #14
    Looks like maybe the cable wasn't reseated fully or something happened either cable itself.
     
  15. Failurbydesign thread starter macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #15
    I ordered more tape and a new cable from amazon, i'm crossing my fingers!!!
     

Share This Page