27" iMac - Secondary monitor - Anyone done it?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mrob44, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. mrob44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    Has anybody tested the 27" iMac as a secondary monitor yet? I'm curious to know how/what is involved to configure, and how well it works. Post stories if you've done it.
     
  2. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #2
    Works great. I bought the Belkin cable (Mini Display Port to Mini Display Port) when I picked up my 27" iMac. I plugged on end into my MBP and the other into the iMac, and the iMac instantly became a secondary monitor for the MBP (the iMac was on already). Clicking CMD + F3 on the iMac toggles between the iMac display, and the MBP display.

    I can set the iMac display to be an extension of the MBP desktop, or I can mirror it. If I mirror it, the iMac resolution decreases to match the MBP. If I leave it as an extension, the iMac stays at full resolution. I can also move the menu bar to the iMacs screen if I want.
     
  3. idyll macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #3
    Does the iMac have to be on in order to be used as a monitor?
     
  4. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #4
    yes
     
  5. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #5
    Interested in the CMD + F3 feature. Does that mean I can hook up my Mac Pro to the iMac, and switch between the 2 systems using that keyboard shortcut? I just tried it with my MBP and it didn't do anything.
     
  6. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #6
    Yes you can, but when you switch to your mac pro by hitting CMD+F3 on the iMac keyboard, you will then have to use the keyboard and mouse thats connected to you mac pro.

    In other words the CMD+F3 function doesn't work as a KVM switch allowing for the use of one keyboard and mouse between the systems. It basically acts as an A/V switch.
     

Share This Page