27-in 5K3K iMac coming soon !

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joe1946, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. joe1946 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #1
  2. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    That article actually points back to a forum thread on this site. So, not what I could call convincing.
     
  3. Suture macrumors 6502a

    Suture

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #3
    That's some fine journalism. :)

    The only thing I expect of Apple is for the rumors to be 99% false.
     
  4. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  5. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    a 4k/5k iMac with an IPS (not crappy TN) display would up the cost about $500-$800 per unit. I've only seen the NEC in a 27in size for 4k, IPS, around $1299 for the monitor alone. All the cheaper displays are 24in and then the IPS goes up to 32in and cost a couple grand.
     
  6. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #7
    i see the 27" 5K iMac starting from $2400 or $2500 and is not bad
     
  7. cgc, Sep 13, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2014

    cgc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    I bet if Apple made a 5K iMac they'd stick an nVidia 750M in it to save a few bucks /s
     
  8. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #9

    I suspect that all these rumors feed off the same original source, which in the case of the computerworld article was a post here. I don't put much credence in these until the analysts chime in. :)
     
  9. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #10
    Every day in fact. One glance on any given day at macsurfer.com will confirm this long habit. The same speculation is pasted across 20 places. Source? Most times it's someone floating something till it gets edited to look like some bit of news.
     
  10. lJoSquaredl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #11
    Wouldn't they just turn the iMac into one line? Have them all be 21.5 or 24 inches and have the scaled resolutions, so u could have like 1080p, 1440p and whatever higher resolution scaled on one iMac? Seems like that's how they did the rMBP and got rid of the 17 inch, that'd prolly work here too.
     
  11. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #12
    The 17" MBP wasn't selling enough to keep it going, but they still have 2 sizes. The 21.5" and 27" iMacs both seem to be selling well. The iMac screen sizes have grown over time, if sizes were to change, they will get bigger, maybe 24" and 30". But the appearance of the 27" retina spec panel means an increase in resolution, not size.

    I'm really looking forward to a retina iMac, although it would have been nice to see a return to 16:10 aspect ratio. 5120x3200 (retina 2560x1600) at 30" would be amazing.
     
  12. mrmarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #13
    A 4 or 5K display is looking highly likely, and will serve beneficial to the Mac Pro. I doubt will see any iMac's with a 4k display this year, so don't keep your hopes up.
     
  13. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #14
    i really looking as well for a higher ppi iMac with 980MX and Thunderbolt 2 ports
     
  14. zarf2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #15
  15. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #16
    Maybe a high-end premium model with current prices, but not for the entire line.
     
  16. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #17
    wow...nice increase...even from 880M...so i guess from 780M to 980M will be almost 60% more performance

    ----------

    980M is close to the 780M SLI....very very nice...i think 980M it will not be an MX version because it is a beast as it is already

    ----------

    i really hope for an October iMac with 980M introduction

    ----------

    i wonder if it got 8 gb vRAM and i think its on 384 bit
     
  17. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #18
    So the high end 27" iMac will come with two powerful dGPU 970M and 980M i hope
     
  18. skadd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #19
    Quick question; Will it be unveiled with a keynote? What about the next iPad?
     
  19. MattInOz macrumors 68030

    MattInOz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #20
    Curious as the why it's assumed to use a nVidia GPU.
    Why wouldn't they use the same daughter card style as the newMacPro and go with AMD GPU's?

    Say a lower spec D100 with upgrade options of the D300 , D500.
     
  20. zarf2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #21
    arent those desktop GPUs? I doubt they would use anything but mobile GPUs due to cooling etc and the 980M (or even better if they do an MX version just for apple) would be more likely and give a decent performance boost...
     
  21. MattInOz macrumors 68030

    MattInOz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #22
    Yes but according to Apple documentation the power draw on the new Mac Pro at load is on par with the current iMacs at load.

    Which make me wonder with power draw of the screen instead of second GPU and lower power but still desktop CPU add redesign to use research done for the thermal core why the iMac couldn't share parts with the Mac Pro.
     
  22. omenatarhuri macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #23
    It's a different market. The Dxxx are for pro use. Geforce/Radeon line for consumers. Why they don't use Radeon? Because NVIDIA seems to be doing much better these days especially performance per watt which is important for thin Apple cases.
     
  23. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #24
    Not just that. Remember Radeongate that hit the Sandy Bridge line of 27" iMacs and 15"/17" MBPs?
     
  24. MattInOz macrumors 68030

    MattInOz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #25
    The top half of the 27" iMac line is very much a work a day pro machine these days, well some time really. It really could use Pro level graphics as more and more big interface software can really use GPU processing days.

    I know a few offices buying iMac 27 was CAD/BIM and it's Always a BTO with two main changes up the GPU and switch to extended keyboard. Well 3 more RAM (but that might be done after market).

    AMD or Radeon either way pro level would be good.
     

Share This Page