27-inch imac cpu upgrade?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lPHONE, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. lPHONE macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    1. Can i upgrade from a core 3.2GHz Core i3 to a Core i5 or higher?
    2. How much faster IS a core i5 or i7?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    The CPU cannot be upgraded aftermarket, and it is only faster for heavy work to use an i5 or i7
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    In theory, you can. All CPUs for LGA 1156 socket should work. However, I haven't heard anyone doing it so you would be the guinea pig to test things out. It will certainly void your warranty though
     
  4. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
  5. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #5
    let me tell you a story...
    there's this guy who's a spoiled rich kid and he's also a PC. he asks me to fix his iPhone screen (because that's what i do, i repair ****) and he tells me about this iMac his parents bought him for xmas. i lifted it off him for $400 + i fixed his digitizer for free ;).

    so basically, my other desktop is a Mac Pro and i am accustomed to speed and i'm also not afraid to void the warranty or tear it apart. however, I did hear from one source that the logic board would not support a core i7, but i've got a hunch that it will support an i5 based upon the fact that you can add a 3.60GHz Intel Core i5 [for $200.00] on this page http://store.apple.com/us/configure/MC510LL/A?mco=MTg1ODA3Nzg I'm just hoping someone else's tried it before I do. I figure I could buy one off eBay for $300 and sell my i3 for $150 and only sped $150 + 2 hours of my time, but the REAL QUESTION is how much of a speed increase is that?
     
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    well it looks like theres a little lever to release the cpu, so you could give it a crack!
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    A quad core i5 or i7 should work. They use the same socket and I'm pretty sure all 27" iMacs have the same EFI so they support the same steppings. There is nothing pointing toward it not working. All you got to do is try. If the quad core doesn't work, sell it. You may lose 20 bucks or so but that shouldn't be a big deal.

    A quad core would be noticeably faster in tasks that require lots of CPU power. Maybe even up to twice as fast.
     
  8. Detosx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #8
    I would be very interested in upgrading my 2010 i5 2.8 model to i7 but, at this point, don't have the will to risk being an early adopter. It would be good to know for certain that it's definitely a safe do-able. That sticker 'Warranty void if removed' is a little concerning, no? Please report back anyone - rash enough to try - upgrading their new iMac!
     
  9. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #9
    I heard from a frined that 27" models that came with i3 would only support i5 because of the motherboard. Is that true?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Technically, that is not true. An i7 for LGA 1156 socket should work in 27" iMac with i3 as they use the same socket. However, since nobody has tried this before AFAIK, I can't know for sure.
     
  11. rugox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #11
    It has been done actually. I read posts from ifixt and hardmac of people going from i3 to i7 quad. The hardest part is tearing down the imac to access the cpu socket. Here's a link to a step by step guide: http://www.hardmac.com/articles/335/page2
     
  12. Detosx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #12
    Good find but in the first few paragraphs I noticed 'This should give it a lot more power and bring it to the level of the 2010 model'. I don't think anyone has yet attempted/documented moving from the 2.80 i5 to an i7 with the present 2010 model?
     
  13. rugox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #13
    Hmm Yeah I actually did not read the guide throughly. It was replacing the 2009 model's CPU. I wonder if the innards are similar to the new imac refereshed in june 2010? Perhaps compare the teardown pics of 2010 model to it?
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    At least the chipset is exactly the same (P55). Shouldn't be any major differences
     

Share This Page