290x FCPX performance?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slughead, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #1
    As has been posted several times, the 290x apparently works with newer versions of OSX (no boot screens yet). I was wondering if anyone has compared its performance to the 280x (which apparently beats D700).

    I'm thinking of getting a single GPU to help with FCPX... with price drops, I may even consider dual 290x with water-cooling (with case-mod).
     
  2. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #2
    Dual 280xs just beat the d700s, equal them and are slower in some benchmarks, as per the link you posted.
     
  3. slughead thread starter macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #3
    "The 2013 Mac Pro 12-core is faster in the two CPU intensive tests like the Resolve export and FCPX export. The 2010 Mac Pro edged it out in five of the six tests that stressed both CPU and GPU such as Resolve playback and FCPX video effects rendering."

    Toss out the CPU tests (which would obviously favor the newer CPU), and you find 5/6 tests that had more of a GPU focus favored the 280x. Amazing considering the CPU and PCIe bus were slower. This makes sense because the D700 is very similar to the 280x, just has a significantly slower clock.

    At any rate, I didn't mean to put down the nMP (not interested in having that conversation again), especially considering the test results were so similar. I was just wondering about the 290x test results.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    The reason for my post was that you made it sound like a single 280x beats dual d700s. These are important details.
     
  5. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #5
    I just upgraded to Yosemite and installed a MSI Lightening 290X 4GB in a Cubix Xpander (for power supply reasons) and I can report that I'm getting about 25% slower playback/rendering/exporting within Premiere Pro and Adobe Media Encoder when compared to my previous PowerColor 280X 3GB card. I can't explain why. Still trying to troubleshoot.
     
  6. dub*man macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #6
    Do the 290x cards work just fine in Mac Pros now with Yosemite?

    I realize there will be no boot screen though.
     
  7. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #7
    "Just fine" is debatable. Mine certainly works right out-of-the-box. I didn't need to flash it or install any drivers. But I'm getting slow speeds with it compared to a 280X.

    I read somewhere in this forum that the good people at Netkas Forum are working on an EFI flash upgrade for the 290X to get PCIe 2.0 functionality, but that's just hearsay. If true then perhaps my 290X's low performance is due to this PCIe 1.0 limitation.
     
  8. dub*man macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #8
    Slower than say, a 5870? I'm looking to upgrade asap and can't decide between getting a 280x and 290x
     
  9. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #9
    I can't compare my 290X with a 5870 as I don't have a 5870. I suppose that I could run some benchmarks, but I've already removed the 290X and reinstalled my 280X because I got a strange system freeze yesterday while editing within Premiere Pro and I lost 2 hours worth of work (for some reason the auto-save didn't work). I can't have that happen twice. I'm returning the 290X. I wish that I wasn't. It's a cheap fast card. Now I'm considering getting a GTX 980 or Titan, which will set me back some serious coin.
     
  10. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #10
    What did you end up doing about your GPU situation?
     
  11. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #11
    I've been working with an EVGA SC GTX 980 4GB for a few weeks now with good results. I don't have boot screens, but that doesn't bother me. I'm getting 2x the performance in Premiere Pro and After Effects as with my old PowerColor 280X 3GB from MacVidCards. I don't have CUDA enabled (others are reporting that it's enabled in 10.10.2 but I haven't upgraded yet) but the OpenCL in CC 14 works great. And best of all, I can power it internally. So I don't need my bulky, expensive CUBIX Xpander anymore (although I'm keeping it in case I want to go with a dual 980 configuration in the near future).

    Others are waiting for the 8GB versions of the 980 to start hitting the stores. I might upgrade when that happens. Working with UHD video footage can use the extra memory.
     
  12. MrHollywood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    #12
    Hi do you still use the gtx 980. And if so how do you rate it for 4K video editing with footage recorded In a compressed format like 4K 264x or Sony format I forget name of. Think it's .svac or similar.

    And if possible, how does it compare to the amd 280x with Final Cut Pro?

    Would get amd card, but would also like to move some cuda programs to Mac.


     

Share This Page