2D Animation on Mac or PC?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by gunraidan, May 30, 2010.

  1. gunraidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #1
    I'm interested in buying a 27" i7 iMac for 2D animation. Animating is my hobby and I primarily use Toonboom as my software of choice.

    However I'm wondering if the iMac I want would be the best buy? Is it overkill? Or is it not good enough and I should go PC with a better graphics card?
     
  2. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #2
    It doesn't really matter.

    The real question is, will you export your final animations mostly to Quicktime .mov files?
    Because Quicktime is home at the Apple's Macintosh platform. It does work on Windows, but has some quirks (damn you, Apple!).

    If you have the money, go with the 27" iMac.

    But you should know, even on a Core 2 Duo, most Toon Boom products should work plenty fast.

    What app do you use? Toon Boom Studio or Animate? Or even Digital Pro?
     
  3. gunraidan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #3
    I use Toon Boom Animate. I use it with a 2009 13" Macbook Pro and it starts to chug and act sluggish once I it pulls out a fair share of frames.
     
  4. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #4
    Yes, that can be the problem.

    If you have many layers (background), complex camera and motion-tweens with many-many frames, than you really need a fast multicore CPU with a minimum of 3-4 GB of RAM.

    The GPU in this case doesn't matter, since there is almost zero GPU-accelerations in these products (maybe I am wrong).
     
  5. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    for sequential files, RAID helps in this matter. now this is for playback of course. Ive worked with numerous ToonBoom and Animo users, they usualy work with blocked shots so they dont get bogged down due to display cards. inkers on the other hand different story.
     
  6. gunraidan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #6

    I see. I'm thinking of upgrading to 8GB of RAM though. Is that really needed or is it just overkill?

    The way I animate is that I only have a few layers (like 2 or 3) and try to cram as much stuff as possible. However I don't do too many tweens or anything I just copy and paste frames and change the animation little by little for the most "handmade" style.

    RAID?

    Could you explain this for someone less experienced with this stuff please? :eek:
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Sorry too lazy to explain:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID

    Powerful hard-drive stuff.
    Basically for reading larger files sizes sequentially.
    Some workflows (app dependent) lets you render to AVI/QT but most I know likes to use a file checker (reads sequential files e.g. anim.0001.tga, anim.002.tga...).
    Hope that helps.
     
  8. gunraidan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #8
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page