2G iphone...reset...now what?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mom2kyleegrace, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. mom2kyleegrace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #1
    I did the reset on the phone. Now it shows, slide for emergency. What do I do to make it capable of working the ipod or for someone else to use w/their sim card?
     
  2. tylertech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    To use it as an iPod: Either use a previously activated SIM card, or unlock it to get access to it.

    For someone else to use it on ATT, just put there SIM card in (they may need a new one) and iTunes will help them activate it when they plug it in to their computer.
     
  3. mom2kyleegrace thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #3
    I tried using my sister's SIM in it and it did NOTHING!!!



     
  4. mom2kyleegrace thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #4
    I tried using my sister's SIM in it and it did NOTHING!!!



     
  5. Nine9si macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
  6. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    You really took the time to post that? Also, please search the forums as that answer has been given a number of times. Sheesh.
     
  7. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #7
    My experience is that a different SIM won't work unless it came from an iPhone. You can put the original SIM back in and activate with iTunes (assuming you still have it and the account is still active). Same with someone else's iPhone SIM.

    With that said (and I may be wrong), here's a link that should answer your questions:
    http://artoftheiphone.com/2009/02/10/how-to-activate-a-used-iphone/
     

Share This Page