2G Jailbreak is Intel only

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by FunkyMonkey, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. FunkyMonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #1
    So I tried the 2G jailbreak today, but to my dissatisfaction I found it only works on Intel macs. With PPC, when you try to run the rslite program you get "bad CPU type in executable".

    Thanks Dev Team.:mad: Is it really that hard to make it universal?
     
  2. internet626 macrumors newbie

    internet626

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    The Dev Team was not very happy with putting out redsn0w. They had no intention, but they got so many complaints that they just did it and put it out there. It wasn't on their list of things to do.
     
  3. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #3
    Do you know anything about programming?

    Yes it is hard to make code that works for everything, harder than you'd think anyway.
     
  4. FunkyMonkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #4
    Actually I don't, I just needed to blow off some steam.

    Now that I think about it, who needs a jailbreak anyway?
     
  5. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    People who want...
    - Background
    - Themes
    - Apps not accepted into the App Store
    - Basically, total customization of the OS.
     
  6. FunkyMonkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #6
    Ya I know what a jailbreak does. But it has no purpose for me.
     
  7. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    So instead you should have said, "I don't need a jailbreak anyways."
     
  8. FunkyMonkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #8
    Yes, I probably should have.
     
  9. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you really want it, you might be able to run it in an emulator. But, I can see that you probably don't want to go through the trouble.
     
  10. KrazyKuul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #10
    I LOVE BECK though, you cannot see your signature there

    soy un perdedor, i'm a loser baby--so why don't you kill me. (get crazy with the cheese whiz)
     

Share This Page