2gb 800mhz vs 4gb 677mhz

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by -(.)-(.)-, May 8, 2008.

  1. -(.)-(.)- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    There are no "4gb 677mhz"

    max ram of 667 mhz powermac is 1.5gb

    And what exactly are you comparing?
    iBook, PowerBook, powermac? what are the prices?
     
  3. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #3
    I think the OP is talking about the MHz of the RAM itself, rather than the machine it's going into. I would've thought 4GB of RAM would be better, but I can't promise that. Unless you're talking about taking RAM out of an older machine, why not get 2 x 2GB 800MHz chips?
     
  4. -(.)-(.)- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #4
    I'm on about buying RAM, not buying a new computer.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Well, before you will get a reasonable answer, you will have to tell us which machine specifically you are installing the memory in.
     
  6. -(.)-(.)- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #6
    imac, but an answer that applies to all computers would be helpful for future reference.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Sigh. There are 8 distinct eras of iMac each of which take different RAM.

    You have to be more specific.

    And for future reference the answer to this and many other repeatedly asked questions, is in the Guides : Hardware: Understanding Intel Mac RAM

    Assuming you are talking about an intel iMac, there are four categories:

    CoreDuo machines take 667 MHz RAM limited to 2 GB ( 2 x 1 GB SODIMMS)
    White Core2Duo machines take 667 MHz RAM up to 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB SODIMMS) but will only utilize 3 GB of that total
    Aluminum SantaRosa Core2Duo machines take 667 MHz RAM up to 4 GB
    Aluminum (April 2008) Core2Duo machines take 800 MHz RAM up to 4 GB

    There is no point in installing 800 MHz RAM in a 667 MHz machine, it won't make it go faster and it may crash the machine.
    There is no point in installing 667 RAM in a machine that requires 800, if it works at all, it will slow the machine down.
     
  8. -(.)-(.)- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #8
    It's Aluminium and I got it end of last month, so I'm assuming it takes 800mhz ram.
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    <headdesk>

    Check. Assuming is risky.

    Apple Menu: About this Mac
    or
    Apple Menu: System Profiler : Memory

    Get the speed of RAM that it says there.
     
  10. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    When you purchased doesn't necessarily state which version of iMac you purchased. Did you buy it new from Apple? Was it after the recent update? Reason being, this latest update boosted iMac ram up to 800mhz, so it matters which version you have more than a vague idea of when you purchased it.
     
  11. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    You're looking at a $15 difference in price between the 800mhz and the 667mhz for 4gb of ram. Why is there even a question if your computer takes 800mhz? Your decision is whether to spend $110 on 4gb or $$50 on 2gb.
     
  12. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    Yeah...

    Even that is pretty obvious to me. Ram is cheap now, buy accordingly.
     
  13. mankar4 macrumors 6502a

    mankar4

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page