2GB DIMMS for original G5 Dual 1.8GHZ?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by huntercr, May 8, 2009.

  1. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #1
    I know it's not officially supported, but has anyone gotten 2GB DIMMs to work in an original series dual G5 ( 8 slots ) ? ( Mine is 1.8GHZ )

    I'm going to try and squeeze 1 more year out of this mac and am planning on upgrading from my current 4GB ( 4x512 and 2x1GB ), and thought I might go for the 2GB sticks if there's any possibility that they'll work.

    EDIT: oops... does anyone even *sell* 2GB DDR400? I swore you used to be able to buy this way back when... it as just outrageously expensive.
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I have never seen 2gb individual sticks for sale the largest made were the 1gb ones which you could buy in matched pairs for a total of 2gb perhaps this is what you were thinking of.
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    There are 2gb PC3200 400mhz dimms out there but they were for servers. I don't think the ECC Registered dimms would work in the G5. Only the DDR2 G5's supported 16gb of memory.
     
  4. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    Double check the manual for the model. The ddr2 model supports both ECC and non ECC. There are even 4GB DDR sticks, but they were 1000$ a stick last I saw them.
     
  5. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  6. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    Check the BTO options:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP37

    ECC or NECC ram. "ECC memory available in configurations with 1GB or more (build-to-order option)"

    However, that is the DDR2 model only (I wasn't sure and said to check the manual, the DDR1 models do not support it).
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    "(Late 2005)" being the key to your link.
     
  8. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #8
    Haha. Correct. As my original post stated, I knew the DDR2 models (Late 2005) supported ECC and to check the manual for the DDR models as I wasn't sure. I checked this morning while pulling the link to show that at least 1 G5 model DID support it.
     

Share This Page