2GB is now stock.. any takers for 4GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Imbalance, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. Imbalance macrumors member

    Imbalance

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Just wondered who has taken the plunge and upgraded to 4GB in their new MBP? If you found the memory cheap somewhere (especially if its in the UK) please let us know!

    I'm half tempted to upgrade as I do a lot of Photography in Lightroom/PS & also have to code in a VM... so I figure it'd probably be a worthwhile upgrade.
     
  2. Emrtr4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #2
    Well all I can say is that in the US Newegg.com, OCW, and others let you get 2 2 gig modules (that means 4 gigs total) for $400 or less, as suppose to the $750 you have to give apple, which is a total joke.
     
  3. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #3
    I believe the OWC brand kit is something like $225 :eek:
     
  4. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #4
  5. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #5
  6. coffeegonecold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    #6
    I'm running 4 GB on my MBP right now (upgraded it myself, way cheaper), just got the system today.
     
  7. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #7
    667 vs. 800

    Why the rush to get the 4 gigs now when it runs at 667; why not wait for 800? Thanks...:confused:
     
  8. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #8
    Do you think you'd actually notice a difference as an average user? No ;)
     
  9. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    When I get the new MacBook Pro, I'm going to get 4GB of RAM. Probably from either Newegg or OWC.
     
  10. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    I'm putting 4GB in my new Macbook Pro and I've got 4GB in my current thinkpad.

    Its a huge difference in my opinion.
     
  11. Aniej macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #11
    what is the ram configuration of the 2.2GHZ, 1 and 1 right? so I would need to replace the whole set to get to 4 or yank 1 and replace with 2gb if i am down with 3gb?
     
  12. rrijkers macrumors 6502

    rrijkers

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    But still it's a good point, so the 800mhz frontsidebus means you can run that fast memory, am i correct? :confused:
     
  13. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #13
    No, Santa Rosa doesn't even make due of the 667mhz. It doesn't support 800mhz nor would it make a difference since it doesn't use the current memory to its max extent.
     
  14. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #14
    I couldn't help myself - I had to have 4GB. It's just an insane amount of memory to have in a laptop. Maybe not in a couple of years, but right now, it's insane, and I just couldn't help myself ;)

    I fully intend on using every last bit!
     
  15. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #15
    Totally agree - especially as you can upgrade it yourself so easily and cheaply!
     
  16. mikesjo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    #16
    For those who have upgraded from 2GB --> 4GB. Notice a difference at all? :). Can the 1GB ram sticks in the current MBP be used in any other lineup of apple notebooks? Because I'd like to sell them off if I went to 4GB.
     
  17. purdueboiler87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #17
    I just installed my 4 gig from OWC this morning. It definitely helps when running Parallels. I allocate 1.5 to Parallels and the rest to OS X. It is so cheap now why not have 4 gig?
     
  18. whiskerlickins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #18

Share This Page