2GB not enough? Screenshot Inside

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by crisito, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. crisito macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    I have the new 13 inch Air with 4GB but I'm going to switch to 11 inch. The only thing is, I don't know whether I need 2GB or 4GB. Any time I look at the Activity Monitor it says I'm using over 2GB of RAM, even though I'm not doing that much the MacBook.

    [​IMG]


    Am I correct in saying that only the 'Active' memory is actually being used?

    Though even 1.5GB being used seems like a lot for the few things that I have running.
     
  2. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #2
    Ditch Chrome - although Firefox is another memory hog.
     
  3. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #3
    Can't see all the programs running but yes you are using over 2GB. Assuming you want to run the same number on the 11" then you should get 4GB.
     
  4. shootingrubber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #4
    Get 4GB of RAM.
     
  5. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    what are those chrome renderer? id rather use safari. those are killing your system. use safari and install clicktoflash
     
  6. crisito thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    Not sure what they are - they just open when Chrome is open. I can see now that Chrome uses over 500mb more than Safari.


    I'd like to use Safari but I hate the fact that there are two bars, instead of an omnibar like on Chrome, it improves productivity a lot.
     
  7. NotAHater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #7
    Another vote for STOP USING CHROME and it all gets better for you....
     
  8. crisito thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    I've just done a reboot, and opened all the usual apps that I use, but opened Safari instead of Chrome and now I'm only using 1.4GB.

    Looks like I can stick with 2GB afterall.

    I just wish Safari had a Omnibar. :(
     
  9. hleewell, Nov 8, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2010

    hleewell macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #9
    Safari+ Mac OS X + ClicktoFlash = The Way Forward :D

    Personally, I have nothing against Flash. They look great
    in those customized corporate websites promoting
    their brand or product. You know you are expecting elegant
    slideshow, and tasteful music when you click in. But I have a
    problem with those super-loud, tacky Ads that come bursting
    into my private sanctuary without warning in every blog or
    free website I visit. ClickToFlash has come to my aid.
    If you want longer battery life while surfing outside your home,
    disable Flash completely with this plug-in.
     
  10. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #10
    safari is an extreme memory hog too, like most all browsers.
    had it use over 3.2GB before.

    chrome opens a new rendering engine every time you open a new tab, the advantage to this is that if one page crashes (Flash) then it doesnt crash the whole browser.
     
  11. NotAHater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #11
    :) Glad to hear it! You have to understand that Google and Apple are market competitors, and Google HATES Apple. They want to offer you a product that *looks* good, but it's gonna make your Mac run poorly. And when it does where else can you look? Perhaps at an Android powered device??
     
  12. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #12

    man, you wont regret the 11" its like ipad with keys. if you fold its super portable.

    i have the 2GB only 128ssd and i ran a lot of stuff but there is no slowing down!
     
  13. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
  14. #14
    +1, plus 4G RAM
     
  15. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #15
    I wouldn't think so, 1.4GB is only to load your config to start with.
    But do yourself a favor - watch Activity Monitor (while not touching Chrome) - you'll see it quickly creep past 2GB

    And remember, you don't have 2 or 4 gigs, you stuck with 1.75 or 3.75GB respectively.
     
  16. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #16
    I never had that much memory used with my 13" that had 2GB of memory. On my 11" with 4gb I'm using 1.33 right now
     
  17. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #17
    BTW, it would be interesting to see what 2GB configs show under Memory tab in System Profiler - does it show like you have two banks of RAM?
    because if it shows only one, you get one channel only - and it being shared with 320M - sucks big time!
     
  18. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #18
    You are using 2.58 GB. But you are not really using that much. The OS doesn't free up memory until it needs to, so it just keeps pages that were recently used but are no longer being used in memory... just in case.

    Now do you need 2 or 4 GB? Harder to answer. A light user only needs 2 GB. I would get 4 GB as that is the standard size machines come with today. Programs being written today assume you have 4 GB.
     
  19. crisito thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #19
    Yes it shows 2.
     
  20. crisito thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #20
    I'll keep an eye on Activity Monitor up until I get the 11-inch then I'll decide what I need, 2 or 4GB.

    I think it will stay under 1.75 using Safari.
     
  21. fyrefly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #21
    Would you really sacrifice your day-to-day usability for the ~$100 or less that it costs to upgrade to 4GB of RAM? Over two years of owning the machine, you'll be spending less than 14 cents a day. Is that worth it?

    And as other posters have said - wait till you start watching videos in Safari, and multiple tabs, etc... You'll see that memory creep back up.

    The big thing to watch for is "Page Outs" - that's the RAM writing to the SSD (or HD in many other laptops) 'cause it's full. You have no page-outs in your system right now... but go down to 2GB and you will. I certainly did on the 11" I had before I returned it. And that was with minimal programs (Word, Final Draft, Safari)
     
  22. justaregularjoe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #22
    I struggle to find the logic in this post.

    If a company wanted to promote themselves to users of another system, why would they create software such that use of it causes poor performance? Especially when they do not actually have a system on which it runs particularly fast to turn to?

    Example: iTunes. Apple made iTunes available for PCs and streamlined the experience as much as possible so that Windows users could see what they were missing out on. Now what if Apple had made iTunes nice and fast for Mac OS, but then made it nice looking but slow as molasses on Windows? Windows users would not only not buy iPods, they would avoid Mac OS like the plague, thinking that it as slow as software.

    :( Do I have a point here, or am I just insane?
     
  23. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #23
    I have a hunch (didn't had time to research thoroughly) - that repeated page-outs will stress SSD quite hard.
    I assume it would make few gigs (I have 3.86GB over 3 days - even having 4GB RAM) difference every day or unnecessary stress on SSD.

    It's true that page-ins happen times faster on SSD, almost to a point of no perceptible difference, but you pay with page-outs that eat away at your SSD for that.
     
  24. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #24
    This makes sense to me. But are ANY page-outs bad, or is there a ratio of Pageins to Pageouts one needs to look at? On my Macbook, my ratio is about 4:1. So it makes me think 2GB RAM may be enough. Or is that not true?
     
  25. SidBala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

Share This Page