2gb or 3gb in blackbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by matthews1492, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. matthews1492 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #1
    I know there have been other posts about this, but I'm really curious if anyone has anyfirst hand impressions of the noticing a difference. I'm about ready to get my first macbook to replace my imac. I'm going to be constantly using illustrator, photoshop, and bridge in tandem. Additionally I'd like to be able to have itunes, safari, mail and a smidgen of parallels. Also will be using the macbook with a 1600x1200 external display when at home.

    I understand that if I use up more then 2GB's of ram of course there will be performance benifit. I'm really interested in though, does having 3gb of ram make the system sluggish if I'm using a moderate amount of ram? (things like slow dashboard)

    THanks a ton, any advice would be fantastic!
     
  2. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    I thought 2GB was the maximum in a MacBook, but I'm happy to be proven wrong.
     
  3. matthews1492 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    We have tested 3 Gb (1 x 1 Gb, 1 x 2 Gb) in a Blackbook and it recognized 3 Gb just fine.. Keep in mind that this is for Core2Duo MacBooks only - CoreDuos crash and burn with a 2 Gb module in.

    I cannot vouch for all brands of 2 Gb modules however, only the ones we tested.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #5
    I've got 3GB of ram waiting to be picked up at UPS and supposedly FedEx left my macbook with a neighbor today :)mad: not happy about this one), so I should be able to offer some thoughts in the next week or so. Still need to pick up CS3 in the next day or two.
     
  6. matthews1492 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #6
    congrats on the new macbook plus cs3 , youll love it. the new pallette interface is soooo much better.

    Canadaram: when you placed 3gb , was there a percievable difference in the system?
     
  7. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #7
    Well, first pass impressions are that it's plenty fast. I don't have CS installed yet, so I haven't exactly taxed the machine (or really even had much time to play with it). But I will say that OSX loads extremely quickly as do other apps. Firefox takes less than a full bounce in the doc to come up.

    I'll follow up with further impressions down the line if you'd like. Feel free to ask any specific questions.
     
  8. Dynamyk macrumors 6502a

    Dynamyk

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto

Share This Page