iPad 2GB RAM first impressions?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Mstikes, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. Mstikes macrumors member

    Mstikes

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #1
    Now that we finally have more Ram what did you first notice on your iPad air2 apart from not having Safari tabs constantly reloading.

    I find I listen to live radio on Tunein I'm able to pause switch to another App and pick up right where I left without having to restart the stream like I used to have to do.
     
  2. canesalato macrumors 6502a

    canesalato

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #2
    I can go from pdf expert to pages and back without them keeking reloading like ****! I'm so glad for these 2gb! The original Air and the 6/plus should have had 2 gb of ram.
     
  3. richardbb85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #3
    this is great news, wish there was a leak about the ram weeks earlier so i couldve sold the air.
     
  4. Wbutchart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #4
    I manage that fine on my rmini 2.

    I can jump from pages to numbers to notebooks to notability to accordance (bible software) and back to any of them with no reloading.
     
  5. Markiie macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
  6. taedouni macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #6
    The difference is amazing. I feel like the iPad Air 2 is a true multitasking device.
     
  7. IbisDoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #7
    Safari tabs still reload all the time. The only thing I've noticed is that the reload is a little faster now.
     
  8. Jeff Flowerday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #8

    Don't get crazy now!
     
  9. dbdynsty25 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    #9
    Pretty sure the is the first impressions thread on Macrumors for ram.
     
  10. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #10
    Really? Because I'm not having the issue any more. I can open a couple of MacRumors tabs, CNN (which is a bit heavy), NBCNews (again-heavy), a couple on the Washington Post and im not getting any reloads. I've even watched an embedded video and not seen any.

    I'm sorry the issue hasn't been fixed for you.
     
  11. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #11
    It's embarassing to apple that this thread exists haha
     
  12. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #12
    If Apple wasn't embarrassed by the lack of RAM in the first place I doubt this thread will do the trick.

    But you're right, at least they should be.
     
  13. JTravers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #13
    It happens to me when I use other apps for a while and then go back to Safari. I think this is to be expected, as iOS automatically backgrounds apps that aren't in use. I haven't checked to see if this happens to other browsers that have a built in page cache like iCab or Sleipnir, though.
     
  14. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #14
    BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Well, frozen background apps are a type of multitasking I guess. The iPad is powerful enough, but Apple won't let it fly.
     
  15. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #15
    Ah, haven't actually had that type of need yet. But I do agree, that's to be expected. Can't quite have everything at this point.
     
  16. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #16
  17. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #17
    No clearly all of this can be accomplished with 1gb of RAM! IT'S A SOFTWARE ISSUE!!!

    :rolleyes:
     
  18. s2mikey macrumors 68020

    s2mikey

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    #18
    That's because extra RAM is really just a band aid versus being a real fix which would be an overhaul of how safari manages memory. They could put 4GB of RAM in there and eventually the tabs would still reload.

    But, it does seem like people who had trouble before are generally happier now so I guess cal it fixed. Of course, then you have us pesky Air owners who never had a problem in the first place. Hmmmm..... :D
     
  19. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #19
    I suppose those of you who are pesky Air owners who didn't have a problem aren't upgrading. Why would you? And to be honest, nobody was talking about pages never reloading. Just have enough RAM to keep a coupe of tabs and another app or two so we could switch without losing our work. Does that seem like too much to ask in 2014?

    Who knows if or when Apple might rewrite Safari. They certainly haven't up to now. So I'll take the bandaid and be happy I'm not bleeding any more since the 'doctor' seems too obstinate to do his job.
     
  20. Keniutek macrumors 6502

    Keniutek

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #20
    ... without a multitasking iOS.
     
  21. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #21
    In the sense that it's so light you can use it while doing laundry and cooking dinner?
     
  22. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #22
    I run multiple synth apps, Audiobus and Cubasis to control and record everything, all at the same time. Those apps are certainly not frozen, they are all running. Just because you can't see them on the screen doesn't mean they are frozen.
     
  23. taedouni macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #23
    In the sense that I don't have to worry about iOS freezing RAM in an application because I opened up 1-2 more apps.
     
  24. justinTlME macrumors 6502

    justinTlME

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #24
    Two words: It's FAST! Loving this thing so far. Perfect companion for rMini. :D
     

Share This Page