2nd Gen and 4K Display

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sasha.danielle, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. sasha.danielle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #1
    I realize this is all speculation, but I'm wondering if anyone thinks the Skylake Macbook will be able to run a 4k display.

    I'm thinking two months ago nobody believed the Broadwell rMBP would run a 4k and yet it seems to do so easily.

    Might we also be surprised by a Skylake Core M?
     
  2. iRun26.2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #2
    I'm sure it will. I bet you won't get one until around Christmas, though (at the earliest).
     
  3. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #3
    I desperately need a new laptop. This one meets my needs except for being it also to run a 4k. I think I'll buy the first gen and then take the hit on the resell when gen 2 comes out.

    I'm also thinking about buying a rMBP but I feel like I'm going to want to update that to skylake too anyway.
     
  4. vanimal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #4
    I wonder how much of a hit we would take. Speaking about those who want to grab one now and resell for V2.
     
  5. SSD-GUY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Even if the Skylake Core M can power a 4K monitor at 60Hz, which I think should be doable, the issue lies with the USB 3.1 type c connector which doesn't have the bandwidth to support 4K @ 60Hz.
     
  6. iRun26.2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #6
    I'm hoping to buy the 1st and 2nd (Skylake) generations.

    ----------

    It already supports DP2 which is good enough. It doesn't depend on USB-C bandwidth.
     
  7. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #7
    For the most part I don't think people looking at the rMB aren't looking closely at specs or generations. As far as they're concerned this is a new machine. Also, it's in a lot of ways a mobile device so I would expect that to help as well. In Canada they sell for 1500. 8 months down the road I'm sure I could sell it for 1350. That saves three person 150 plus the two hundred in taxes. Of course if the next model sells cheaper we would have to lower our price accordingly. But that's neither here not there really because that just translates to savings for us too.
     
  8. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #8
    this. It will support 4k @ 60hz. Apple even list that on their website
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202856

    With OS X Yosemite v10.10.3, most single-stream 4K (3840x2160) displays are supported at 60Hz operation on the following Mac computers:
    MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015)
    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
    Mac Pro (Late 2013)
    iMac (27-inch, Late 2013 and later)
    Mac mini (Late 2014)
    MacBook Air (Early 2015)
    MacBook (Retina, 12-inch, Early 2015)
     
  9. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #9
    So what is the limiting factor with this model then?
     
  10. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #10
    nothing. This model supports 4k at 60hz. See my above post.
     
  11. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #11
    I've read in quite a few places though that it will only do 30hz functionally.
     
  12. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #12
    Apple seems to think differently :)
     
  13. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #13
    Well, in either case then, even if this one is cusp, skylake should be able to pick up whatever slack there might be...
     
  14. iRun26.2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #14
    It must be actively cooled for 60Hz (and the rMB is not).
     
  15. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #15
    So no fanless device could possibly run 4k then?
     
  16. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #16
    The Skylake time table is, pardon the pun, up in the air. If you need a new laptop now, I would not be planning on waiting for Skylake. :(
     
  17. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #17
    I'm not. I'm just going to buy now (or whenever they're actually in the store) and replace it with gen 2.
     
  18. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #18
    According to Apple, already the current MB can run a 4K display, so I don't really understand the question. It is supposed to support DP 1.2, which is enough to run a 3840 x 2160 @60 AFAIK.

    Please correct me if I am wrong.
     
  19. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #19
    Arstechnica said even 30hz was sketchy.

    http://arstechnica.com/apple/2015/04/the-2015-macbook-previews-a-future-thats-not-quite-here/3/#h4
     
  20. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #20
    i wonder if you point a fan at it if it would help with running a 4k display.
     
  21. iRun26.2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #21
    Surround it with a block of ice and put it in the freezer.
     
  22. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #22
  23. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #23
    Well the only pros that support 4k @ 60hz are the 2014 15" and the new 2015 13"
     
  24. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #24
    And since Core M has the same GPU (albeit with half shader cores disabled) as the 2015 MBA and MBP — both of which support 4K@60, there is not much reason why it wouldn't do the same. Contrary to what SSD-GUY says, the USB 3.1 Gen1 bandwidth is not a problem because the video signal is not transferred via the USB controller — it is directly muttered to the GPU.

    Of course, its still possible that there is a limitation of some sort. However, I'd suggest we wait for some further evidence before we settle on that explanation. As said before, there are reasons to mistrust the arstechnica results on this one.
     
  25. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #25

Share This Page