2nd GPU in Dual GPU Config Needs Flashing?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by benjobe2513, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #1
    I'm considering getting a second GPU for my system. The GPU I have now has been flashed to get a boot screen. I would suspect that the second GPU wouldn't need to be flashed since it would not be running my monitors. Does anyone know if I'm correct?

    My system:

    2010 5,1 Mac Pro
    3.46GHz 12-core
    Radeon R9 280X (running two monitors)
    OSX 10.9.4

    I would be using the dual GPUs for After Effects, Premiere Pro, and Media Encoder.

    I already know that I will need an external power supply for this config.
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Technically no but if you are going to the trouble to flash one why not flash both cards?
     
  3. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #3
    I bought the flashed 280X from MacVidCards. I'd like to save some money if possible by getting the second card unflashed.

    Does anyone have an any experience with a dual graphics card set up with unflashed cards?
     
  4. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #4
    Yes, you should get other flashed card remember what non flashed and mod cards will work 2.5 gt/s pcie link speed only.
     
  5. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #5
    So if I put a non-flashed PC card in my mac pro (say another Radeon R9 280x to match my current card which is flashed for boot screen) then it will be seen by my system and Adobe After Effects will be able to utilize it, but only at 2.5 GT/s? What is a GT/s?
     
  6. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #6
    Yes, it will work at 2.5gt/s (pcie 1.0) 5.0 gt/s (pcie 2.0)
     
  7. cebseb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    #7
    Yep, you should definitely flash the second card.
     
  8. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #8
    I believe pcie 2.0 has been enabled on cMP by software update, hence no need to flash graphic cards anymore, beside having boot screen
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    AFAIk, depends on the card. For Nvidia GPU, the web driver will enable PCIe 2.0.

    For older AMD card (e.g. 280X), resistor R17 has to be remove in order to get PCIe 2.0 support.

    And some user reported that the RX4xx card automatically get PCIe 2.0 without any mod.
     

Share This Page