2nd HD in an Powermac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by irishgrizzly, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    A friend wants to upgrade storage in a G5 Powermac (Dual 2.3). They have 2 HD bays, right? Would this work; Seagate 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 7200rpm SATA-300 16MB.
     
  2. jpipitone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    #2
    Yes, they have 2 bays. I have 2 drives in a G5 tower that I have here, I use one for backups.
     
  3. iLucas macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
  4. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    Any 2 SATA drives will work perfectly together in a G5.

    Since they are so big and cheap these days I recommend he goes bigger than 500GB. I saw a 2TB Seagate on sale last week for $80. Also saw a 1TB WD Blue for $58.
     
  5. iLucas macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    I agree. Newegg.com is where i buy all my drives, one of the cheapest places i know of
     

Share This Page