iMac Pro 2nd iMac Pro Died

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andyt1979, Mar 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. andyt1979 macrumors newbie

    andyt1979

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    #1
    My second iMac Pro has just died! With exactly the same problem as my first. Has anyone else experienced the same issue?

    Everything works fine and performs great for a few weeks, the first iMac Pro around 5 weeks the second 2 weeks.

    One day the iMac is powered on and nothing happens, the screen is dead, no apple logo, no OS. I have tried to reset the smc, boot up in safe mode etc. But nothing.

    The Mac is hooked up to 2 LG ultra fine 5k displays via thunderbolt 3, a Lacie 6big raid via Thunderbolt 3 and a belkin thunderbolt 2 express dock HD using an official apple thunderbolt 3 to 2 adaptor.

    When turned on the drives hooked up cycle and make a noise but the iMac screen does nothing. The LG displays do nothing.

    The same setup works fine with my 2017 15 MacBook Pro.

    Does anyone have any ideas/help? Apple solution is just to provide me with a new Mac with a 3-5 week delay but never fully diagnose the problem.
     
  2. RimasM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    Lithuania
  3. andyt1979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    andyt1979

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    #3
    I am doing my best!!!
     
  4. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #4
    If you disconnect everything?
    Do you have an UPS?
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    I wonder if this has something to do with the "secure enclave" chip inside.

    I would try this:
    - Disconnect ALL external devices
    - If you use a UPS, disconnect that as well.

    Does this change anything?
     
  6. bxs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    A friend of mine has had this issue. It was an 8-core basic model purchased from Microcenter with the $1000 discount.
     
  7. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #7
    How about getting the powersupply, earthing of your house or office checked by a professional? Even a faulty socket can cause an issue.
    You can also try getting a good wality spike-guard strip to plug in your iMac Pro.
     
  8. Glockworkorange macrumors 68000

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #8
    I can see this happening once with a new product...but two times to the same guy? You're cursed!
     
  9. TGB macrumors newbie

    TGB

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Location:
    Oslo
    #9
    My 10core edition has been running without any issues since late December. It is on 24/7, also using UPS. If I were you I would check the power-system, something is wrong. There is just no way you got 2 defective computers.
     
  10. andyt1979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    andyt1979

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    #10
    --- Post Merged, Mar 19, 2018 ---
    Thanks for the reply. My house is less than 18 months old and the Mac/equipment is protected from surges/spikes. My MacBook Pro and displays operate fine in the same scenario. I wonder if it could be something to do with the boot system of the iMac Pro's T2 chip?
     
  11. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #11
    You may have protected it from surges and spikes, but from high and low voltage or frequency etc issues not.
    You need a good UPS to protect your investment, it is worth it, I ensure you.
    It is a minimal expense when compared to your iMac Pro, anyway...
     
  12. Mac32 Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #12
    Exactly. The odds are just crazy low for something like that to happen.
     

Share This Page

11 March 15, 2018