iMac Pro 2nd monitor for imac pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by echo44, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. echo44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    any suggestions for adding a second monitor for iMac pro? ( specific model)?
    just got my computer today 10 core, 64gb, 2 TB and vega 64
     
  2. HDFan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #2
    Not enough information. What size do you want, what resolution, what connectivity: thunderbolt, HDMI ... How do you want to use the monitor. What apps are you going to use with it, and how (apps that support dual monitors, separate apps on separate monitors), ....
     
  3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
  4. echo44 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4
    I want to match the resolution of iMac pro which is 5K using for video editing and
    photography. Has to be thunderbolt 3.
     
  5. AppliedVisual macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #5
    The LG UltraFine 5K display — it’s the same display that’s already in your iMac, although without the latest tweaks in the iMac Pro, and uses a single TB3 connection to drive it. The other 5K monitors out there on the market all use LG panels as well, of varying generations, and most all of them would gobble up two of your TB3 ports since they use dual DisplayPort connections to drive them and I have not seen any TB3 to dual DP 1.2 adapters hit the market yet. More high resolution displays like this with single DP 1.4 and TB3 interfaces should be available later this year.
     
  6. ncrypt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
  7. ccduncan macrumors newbie

    ccduncan

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    #7

    Sorry to jump in here, but I just got a new iMac Pro (base model) and I'm trying to hook up a second monitor as well. It's a newer LG 4K, and I'm using a USB Type-C to DisplayPort cable that says it supports 4k@60Hz. The iMac display flashes when I plug it in but then nothing happens. I have tried all 4 T3 ports but nothing is working... am I missing something?
     
  8. AppliedVisual macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #8
    Double check the monitor works on another system if you can with a regular DisplayPort cable. Try a different cable on the iMac. I have a USB-C to DisplayPort cable from CableMatters that I bought on Amazon and it works just fine. And that one is actually sitting in a drawer at the moment since I moved my second monitor to a different desk and am running a 15ft DisplayPort cable there and couldn't get the length with a USB-C on one end, so have a USB-C to DP adapter and it's all good, even 4K 60Hz.
     

Share This Page

7 January 17, 2018