2x SSD RAID0 speeds in oMP bays?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by echoout, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. echoout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #1
    Wow, I searched but couldn't find this specifically.

    I would REALLY like to get my 5th PCIe slot back and was considering some different configurations to take out my Sonnet SSD card. Does anyone have the numbers on where the speed tops out on software RAID0-ing 2 (or more) of the oMP HDD bays with SSDs?

    I understand that they're limited in speed, but what max are we looking at?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    SATA2 is limited to about 285MB/s if I recall correctly, and there's a bottleneck in the x58 PCH of 660MB/s (on the 4,1... Which I believe is the same on the 5,1). Of course the latter only becomes relevant when RAIDing 3 or more drives.
     
  3. drewsof07, Feb 15, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2014

    drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    With 2 Crucial M4's in Raid 0 mounted directly to the MB in the 3.5" bays.
    YMMV
     

    Attached Files:

  4. echoout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    Perfect! That's what I needed to know. That's pretty respectable.
     
  5. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Adding a Pcie card with dual SATA 3 netted a boost of 20% on read and 30% on the write benchmarks. Real-world performance was noticeable.
    Good luck!
     
  6. echoout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    Yeah, that's what I have currently but would rather use that slot for my 10GbE card.

    Thanks!
     
  7. filmjames macrumors newbie

    filmjames

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #7
    I have a pair of Kingston SSDNow V300 drives I picked up for $60 each. I have them in the optical bay, running on a 2006 Mac Pro.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #8
    Here is a comparison using a pair of 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSDs in my Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.33GHz 48GB (we have the same configuration it seems :) )

    First is RAID-0 in the Mac Pro disk Trays
    Second is RAID-0 on the Sonnet Tempo Pro PCIe card

    Hope this helps
    -howard

    .
     

    Attached Files:

  9. echoout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #9
    Weird, yeah, pretty identical systems. I think I could live with your first set of speeds for my OS. Not too shabby at all.
     
  10. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #10
    Here are the same pair of Samsung 840 Pro 256GB on a pair of Solo x2 PCIe cards in RAID-0
     

    Attached Files:

  11. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    Whats your block size for the sata 2 raid 0 configuration?
     
  12. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #12
    Oh man ... these were taken in April 2013 and I don't remember for sure and it isn't in my notes. I suspect that this was before I started playing around with RAID block sizes, and was probably simply the default that is presented when you build the RAID.

    Also, the DiskSpeedTest file size was 4GB for these tests.
     
  13. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #13
    Just for comparison to your readings, here is a pair of 512GB Crucial M4's in RAID-0 on the Sonnet Pro PCIe card (my current configuration right now)


    -howard

    .
     

    Attached Files:

  14. filmjames macrumors newbie

    filmjames

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #14
    Wow, that is crazy fast. Now I know what my next purchase is going to be.
     
  15. echoout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #15
    I ran this setup in my Thunderbolt setup for a year and a half as my After Effects cache. It never gave me the slightest problem. Crazy fast.
     

Share This Page