3.0.1 JailBreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Boxheed, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. Boxheed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #1
    Hey ya'll! I'm sorry, I know there is a thousand threads on this, but i do not have the time to search for them, plus when i do the search it comes up with a ton of threads that don't have anything to do with what i typed in. there r just so many new threads it takes forever. But i have an iPhone 3g and before i update to 3.0.1 I just wanna MAKE SURE that the JB is out already? also, in ya'lls opinion, which is better to use for this update...........Prplerain or RedSnow? sorry, i know it's a dumb post but I am not good nor am I a pro at this in the slightest bit. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #2
    Then we dont have the time to help you.
     
  3. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #3
    I felt the same way...

    But I had a little compassion for a split second
    here you go OP hope you have time to click on it.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=757704&highlight=3.0.1+jailbreak

    It took the OP longer to type their original post than it took me to find ONE of the thousands of threads on this subject.
     
  4. Boxheed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #4
    please read the ENTIRE sentence and not just quote those few words u wanted to go on by. Im new to this and suck at CPUs just looking for help that's all, geez!
     
  5. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #5
    You dont have to be "pro" to click search and input a query.

    Oh, I read it. But I stopped caring about an answer after the aforementioned quote in my first response. We are not Yahoo! Answers.
     
  6. Boxheed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
  7. mstier09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #7
    Not that I want to encourage your lack of motivation...

    But yes you can use redsn0w to jailbreak 3.0.1, all you do is point it to the 3.0 firmware instead of 3.0.1, check the dev team blog for more info.
     
  8. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #8
    Come back if you ahve issues.

    There are some good tutorials on iclarified.com do you need a link?
     
  9. Boxheed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #9
    Bruins, no i "somewhat" know of iClarified, but for someone like me a link probably would be pretty helpful i guess. Thanks alot.
     
  10. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    I hope you are typing from a mobile device. Your spelling is inexcusable.

    As bruinsrme quoted earlier follow the tutorials and use Redsn0w. Good luck. :)
     
  11. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    Since you're that guy, there should be a comma between "earlier" and "follow".
     
  12. Cescfabregas4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #13
    When I downlaod the recomended firmware and unzip it I can't find the ispw file. All I get is folders with different files. I have downloaded from various sources but get the same result.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Dont unzip it, rename the file to ipsw and thats it.


     
  14. mondario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #15
    apps dont work after jailbreak 3.0.1 - help

    I have a 2g iphone. I did jailbreak it several times and upgrade it several times with no specific issue until 3.0.1. Following this latest upgarde, i did jailbreak it one more time and...all itunes apps (not the cynthia ones) that i have been using the last twelve months do not work anymore. I can see the icones on the iphone screen but the application does not launch.
    i did back it up and restore (so it is not jailbreak anymore) it. I synch the apps again and the apps still do not work. HELP
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Try downloading and installing a free app thru the appstore on your phone.
    See if that does it.


     
  16. mondario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #17
    i tried. it does not. i thought about restore again completely the iphone like a new phone even if i loose some data.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Yes, that's the only thing left to try. Hope it works out after the restore.

     
  18. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #19
    OP -- I don't have time to read this entire thread[​IMG], but simply googling your title gives you the answer in the FIRST returned result.
     
  19. mondario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #20
    i did restore as new phone and it did...work. i'm doing a new jailbreak now and it is all fine now. thanks
     
  20. optophobia macrumors 6502a

    optophobia

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hudson MA
    #21
    +1
     
  21. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #22
    Ill remember that when you ask a question in here.

    We all can learn something in here from everybody so if you dont have anything to contribute then dont come here.
     
  22. tctuner7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #23

    This is the same problem I had.
    First question to you is what kind of computer are you using so you know how to back up your stuff.
    Next, Your gonna have to restore the phone to brand new, because if you use the itunes back up all the same problems will happen again and again no matter how many times you re-install the jail break software.

    That should fix your problems if you restore to new and re-install the jail break software. if not give more details and ill see what i can do to help.

    Also dev team blog has everything u need on how to install redsn0w with 3.0.1

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
     

Share This Page