3.0 Beta 5: big problems?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mavis, May 14, 2009.

  1. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    Hey guys,

    I'm having big problems with Beta 5 and was wondering if anyone else was, too. 

    Since I installed beta 5, I've been having big problems with 3G reception. Riding the same trains and using the phone in exactly the same places I always have, it's constantly losing service. I'll pick up my phone to find it's not connected, only to watch as it quickly acquires the signal and jumps to full strength about five seconds later. I don't even remember 2.0 being this bad! The phone worked fine on the previous betas, so this is a new change with beta 5. 

    Also, I've been noticing major sluggishness with the Settings app. Besides the two seconds it takes to open the settings in the first place, it then takes another four or five seconds to actually get to any of the settings. Mail, Wifi, General - they all take four or five seconds to open. Has anyone else noticed this? 
     
  2. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #2
    Is it possible the government or an alien infiltration squad could have attached a high powered magnet to your skull while you thought you were sleeping?

    This would explain your problems. Perhaps you can give your phone to a friend for the day who does not work by you and have them test it out and see if it has any problems.
     
  3. eyefoniac macrumors 6502

    eyefoniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    #3
    I also have been having some similar problems with reception. I also have not left the areas I continuously use it in but still experience network loss. Hopefully this will be fixed in the subsequent beta.
     
  4. alphatectz macrumors 6502a

    alphatectz

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #4
    i think everyone is having problems with their iphones, with the beta and without it, might be something to do with at&t.
     
  5. Gathomblipoob macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #5
    My EDGE reception definitely seems go have decreased with betas 4 and 5, though I can't with certainly pin blame on that.

    Going from the top page of Settings to deeper pages is slower in beta 5, but it is a beta...
     
  6. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    Except that I'm in Japan, using SoftBank. ;)

    Seriously though, I've never had reception problems like this. Even that steaming pile of **** 2.0 on launch day worked better than this, in terms of reception anyway.
     
  7. alphatectz macrumors 6502a

    alphatectz

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #7
    hmmmm, try resetting the network.
     
  8. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    Ok, I did it about five minutes ago. I just watched my signal meter bounce from five bars to one and back to five. All in the space of about three seconds, and all while sitting at my desk holding the phone in a stationary position. :rolleyes:
     
  9. alphatectz macrumors 6502a

    alphatectz

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #9
    Then I have no clue man, sorry.
     
  10. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    Thanks for trying to help, anyway. :)

    Are you using Beta 5 and not experiencing any issues?
     
  11. alphatectz macrumors 6502a

    alphatectz

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #11
    I'm using beta 5 on my 2g just for testing, my 3g still on 2.2.1
     
  12. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    Its a beta! Thats the chance you take.
     
  13. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    @Vegastouch yes, I understand that it's a beta. I would think that Apple would have some clue about getting the radio to work properly by now, though. Not to mention the menus in one of their own, bundled apps.
     
  14. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #14
    I'm running Beta 5 with no problems either. Perhaps your carrier is having a problem with their network. It could be just coincidental.
     
  15. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A312g Safari/528.16)

    Hmm. I wonder if I should do a clean install ... ? I guess I can deal with the problems until next Tuesday - hopefully the next beta will be better rather than worse like this one was.
     
  16. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    Im curious. Since you are in Japan and they are so far ahead of us in having better technlogy....why do you have an iPhone when they have way better phones than we have here? Dont they have a Panasonic phone that has a 5.2 MP camera?
     
  17. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #17
    I've been seeing issues like this too. 3G will drop to EDGE and go back to 3G over and over and over in areas blanketed with 3G access.

    Go build a 2 x Core Quad Duo Core i7 desktop with 8GB of ram and 2x256GB RAID SSD then load it with Windows 98. The system will have better specs on paper, but it isn't usable because the software isn't able to take full advantage of it.

    If you've ever actually used Japanese phones then you'd know that while they are impressive on paper the actual reality is they are fairly horrible phones in practice just due to the software.
     
  18. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #18
    Well i really have no idea but i recently read an article on the iPhone in Japan and it isnt selling well there at all and they are offering free ones just to sign up . It pretty much said that the Japanese consider them to be junk because it doesnt hav features that they love such as a good camera and it has no video recording. ..among other things. Said their phones are more advanced because we are behind compared to them on these things.

    Just what i read.
     
  19. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #19
    If you're selling phones to the Japanese there are a few features that everyone pretty much expects.

    1) Loop for phone junk. I never have understood this, but it is important to a lot of people to have trinkets on their phones. The last time I visited it was a HUGE thing that everyone was into and it seems that it is still important.

    2) Payment via phone. This type of support is almost vital because it makes things so much easier to do. You can buy tons of things with your phone and some things are much harder to deal with without being able to pay with your phone.

    3 - 5) Other stuff I can't be bothered to list, but are important like emoji without a softbank email address or hack.
     
  20. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #20
    What you read was probably the Wired article, based on a Japanese journalist being misquoted out of context, as well as other fake quotes from the industry.

    It has been thoroughly discredited.

    Here's an article where the various "quotes" are followed up and deconstructed. The truth is far more interesting than the original piece of anti-iPhone propaganda.

    Oh, and @ the OP: Have you been "restoring" (not upgrading) and then setting your phone up as a "new phone" for each beta? I've found this to be vital, although I can then "restore from back-up" once it's done. All sorts of bugs can raise their heads otherwise.
     
  21. kkurtev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #21
    3.0 Beta 5 is the Bugiest of all 3.0s, it's a big downturn from the 4th beta....
    losing reception, freezing up, mismatch app icons, No Starbucks free WiFi, No MMS etc.
    here are some mismatch icons
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page