3.0 beta: sim card inserted in this iphone does not appear to be supported

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by zertox, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. zertox macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    I'm a registered iphone developer and until now never had problems with firmware upgrades on my 2g iphone. I'm using 2 of the 3 carriers in belgium and didn't even have to use software to unlock the phone. It just worked
    Now I upgraded to the 3.0 software but thats giving me the error : "sim card inserted in this iphone does not appear to be supported"

    Is this because its an 2G iphone (never released in belgium)?


    This is a good excuse to finally get a 3g. But with the iphone not updated in 200+ days I feel like paying to much for something thats going to be upgraded soon. (625 euros in belgium) So I would rather wait a little with no iphone fun :(.
     
  2. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Surelly if they were going to update it soon, they would've mentioned it at the Dev Conference, unless it is only minor (non-software related) changes. Eg extra space or a higher res camera.

    I wouldn't worry about a new iPhone as the current one is great!
     
  3. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    Did you use the firmware meant for the 2G? I saw two links for firmware with one being for the 3G and the other for the first generation. I never checked to see if the firmwares were any different though.
     
  4. zertox thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    Those upgrades would be nice... but I wont miss them.
    I might just go buy a new one. This weekend.
     
  5. kviksilver macrumors newbie

    kviksilver

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Makarska, Croatia -> Boston, MA
    #5
    I have a same problem... It is unlocked 2g iPhone...
    iTunes says:
    "sim card inserted in this iphone does not appear to be supported"
    I still have unlock, because i can recieve calls and sms, but i cant call or even acess springboard because all i get is connect to itunes and emergency calls :-(
    It seems that it cant go past activation... :-(

    So it is back to 2.2.1 :-:)-:)-:)-:)-(
     
  6. zertox thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    I traded my 2G for a 3G :) I wont be installing 3.0 until im sure that it works on legal unlocked 3g iphone (belgium)
     
  7. jenzo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #7
    i have the same problem but with 3g. cant even go back to 2.2.1.... i get no carrier on 2.2.1. data/voice everything broken.
     
  8. dustinl4m3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  9. benzoboomer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #9
    Hey Chief,

    Maybe because you are using a WINDOWS machines. Have you tried Itunes on a MAC yet to update? I bet this will resolve your issue.

    Boomer:apple:
     
  10. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #10
    If you're a developer then how about posting this in Apple's developer forum.
     
  11. jenzo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #11
    wow thanks for the great idea!!!! im trying to get my phone working pal. more eyes i can get on my problem the more chance it gets solved. this is an issue apple is aware of but no help from them thusfar.

    this forum is filled with so many unhelpful members with anger issues i will think twice about asking for help again....
     
  12. frankxp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #12
    Same problems here any luck on this? If you insert the original sim card it will activate on iTunes and let you access the SpringBoard even if you remove the sim card you have access but once you insert a different sim it says: "Different SIM detected"
     
  13. benzoboomer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #13
    @Jenzo

    Try this:

    Remove the Sim card

    Reboot the phone in DFU mode

    Restore the 3.0 software while the phone is in DFU mode

    remove sim and connect to itunes

    remove from itunes and put back in sim

    reboot iphone

    stand on one good leg

    spin around

    when phone reboots, you will be up and running

    let me know if this doesnt work
     
  14. riggers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    #14
    Works fine with legitimately unlocked phones by Apple....
     

Share This Page