3.0 for 3G S on 3G possible?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by The Californian, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #1
    So by now we know that there are obvious differences in the 3.0 software for the iPhone 3G S⃣ and the iPhone 3G. First of all is the Video Recording capability, then there is the new battery indicator noted in this thread. Which brings me to my question.

    Anyone think it would be possible to get the 3G S⃣ software on the 3G?
     
  2. Leemo macrumors 6502

    Leemo

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    I doubt it - the hardware inside the 3G S is now completely new. There are reasons the video recording etc aren't in the 3.0 software that us 3G users will get. I'm sure even the percentage indicator must be hardwired in a certain way.

    -L
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Actually based on some of the various tear-downs popping up on the web, the 3Gs is sporting new internal hardware, including chipsets, memory, and of course oft-requested magnometer. I also think the firmware/rom chips are set to identify which phone you have and ensure that software features on the 3Gs are not accessible on the 3G since they either won't work at all, or work as well as they should or because apple doesn't want them to work.
     
  4. The Californian thread starter macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #4
    I just think it's a bummer to have to jailbreak to get video ... I've never jailbroken before, but it seems like I'm going to now.
     
  5. adomanico18 macrumors member

    adomanico18

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/Hamilton, ON
    #5
    Have you seen the quality of jailbroken video? ewww! buy a 3Gs so you can get some quality picture.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    This is completely OT but the title totally got my attention.
    How'd you do that?
    Picture 2.jpg
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I don't know but it doesn't look like that on my work PC! My guess is that it's some fancy Unicode character
     

    Attached Files:

    • GS.png
      GS.png
      File size:
      536 bytes
      Views:
      2,978
  8. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    That is true, it doesn't look that way on my work PC, but it's still kinda neato in a newbie sorta way. ;)

    Because that helps. :rolleyes:

    Anyone can copy and paste, I just wondered which character it was. S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ S⃣ :cool:
     
  10. tekboi macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #10
    Man, I'm seriously considering buying this. Although alot of these features should have been added on the first gen.

    The only other thing I'm going to hate about this is that I can't run applications in the background...



    or can I??
     
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #11
    No. Copy and paste should have been there, the rest I consider to be the result of development needed over time.
     
  12. The Californian thread starter macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #12

    Whoa jessica ... Don't glom me, haha. I just copy and pasted it from another thread.
     
  13. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #13
    The title got my attention, the thread starter ... not so much. :p
    You've been waiting for the right moment to use that, haven't you? Too bad you haven't found it yet. ;)
     
  14. fleshman03 macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
  15. The Californian thread starter macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #15
    Gutted ... Its like when you have a crush on someone and you're looking for that perfect moment to say something to get noticed ...

    Actually, it's nothing like that. haha
     
  16. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #16
    15fps is far better than $400/$500 if you upgrade early.
     
  17. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #17
    I think it's two characters combined. Unicode 20E3 is "COMBINING ENCLOSING KEYCAP"
     
  18. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #18
    Oh now now come on, you're my favorite. Clearly. :D
     
  19. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    S & # 8 4 1 9 ;

    Remove the spaces.
     
  20. The Californian thread starter macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #20
    Ohhh ... but a Demi-Goddess could never be interested in a mere mortal. We need no more Hercules'.
     
  21. drjuice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #21
    So 3G 3.0 won't have the battery percentage indicator? And it won't have the voice activation functionality?
     
  22. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #22
    On existing 3G phones (or original iPhones)? No. As clearly details on the Apple website.
     
  23. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #23
    Yeah.. pretty annoyed some features are "software limited". We should have some basic video recording, even if it is only 15fps.

    The battery indicator too. I see one bar on my iPhone, and I forget that means I still have 25% left. I see one bar, and I think "crap, it's going to die any minute".
     
  24. bjquach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    PA
  25. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #25
    We know no such thing. It is very easy to make software that installs on multiple systems and acts differently depending on the system capabilities. I would guess it is the exact same code, but some parts of the code are enabled only by the presence of certain hardware. As a software sustaining engineer I can tell you it would be a nightmare from a sustaining standpoint to have 2 different sets of code in this case.
     

Share This Page