3.0 GM on 1st Gen iPhone Error: Could not activate cellular data network

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by badmac78, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. badmac78 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I'm getting this:
    Could not activate cellular data network: PDP authentication failure.

    I've submitted a bug report to Apple.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. peteryan7hao macrumors regular

    peteryan7hao

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    melbourne
  3. Cslebl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #3
    I am getting the same error as well. Same gen of iphone and am in metro Atlanta. Thank goodness for wifi!

    Cslebl
     
  4. Nicolecat macrumors 6502a

    Nicolecat

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #4
    I am getting this error on my 3g iphone...with or without wifi turned on.

    I'm really getting aggravated here.
     
  5. Mbcharles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #5
    Fix!

    I had the same problem this morning.

    Go into Settings>Safari
    Then Clear History, Clear Cookies, Clear Cache.

    This got mine back up and running.
     
  6. badmac78 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Metro Atlanta area here as well.

    clearing cookies appears to fixed the issue.
     
  7. jfulcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    I'm in Metro Atlanta as well.

    clearing and resetting Safari stuff didn't work, nor did resetting my data network settings to default and rebooting.

    Anyone else have any other ideas? This is really frustrating!

    However i'm on an iPhone 3G. This happens in edge or 3g.
     
  8. mike41423 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #8
    Yep, had this problem too. Your carrier info has been hosed. one option, you must reload the ipcc file via an old rev of itunes. Now its been well documented on these forums and others that the newer versions of itunes wont let you do that which is why i say old rev of itunes. for me, i installed virtual box (free VM) on my MB and then installed the (free) windows RC1 and updated it that way. Kinda a PITA, use at your own risk.

    Here is the much EASIER fix. THIS MUST BE DONE VIA SAFARI ON YOUR MOBILE!!! so find some wifi to use.

    open safari, goto unlockit.co.nz and hit continue, then custom APN and select US-Cingular. You could type in the custom fields if you want, but remember this only gives you the three fields, so this isnt a fix for trying to get tethering or MMS working, but IT DOES fix your cell network issue.

    now my next logical question, why the heck can some random site update carrier info via safari and we cant even do that via itunes?

    good for submitting this, i did too. there is also an iphone update tool that you can snag on apples website, i dont have the link handy, but it will update the three apn fields as well if the above trick doesnt work.

    cheers
     
  9. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9
    Are you a registered developer?
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Ahh the joys of downloading software that you're not authorized to use.

    Personally I think its a smarter move to wait till apple officially releases the OS. Its not like people will be waiting for months but a week. How hard is that?
     
  11. jfulcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #11
    That website worked. Thanks!
     
  12. Nicolecat macrumors 6502a

    Nicolecat

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #13
    Posted in the wrong thread...thanks.

    ...and the answer to your question is no...but i'm not on 3.0 GM either.
    But I was still getting those errors all morning. until...'like magic' it worked again.
     
  13. CoreyHM1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #14
    Thanks!! I just installed 3.0 and was having this issue. This fixed it :D

    So I'm suppose to stay on US-Cingular, not US-ATT?

    Cheers
     
  14. drew0020 macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #15
    I have the same problem on the 1st gen iPhone. I tried the website but it didnt work :(. Any other ideas?
     

Share This Page