3.0 Tethering??

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by gillilandboy, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. gillilandboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    St. Louis MO
    #1
    Has anyone gotten this working? I followed the steps on Gizmodo and also downloaded someone elses carrier file. I have the tethering setting in my settings but when I turn it on tethering does not work. Any help would be great. Thanks.
     
  2. Dan in PA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    #2
    Mine works well. IIRC Bluetooth tethering is not yet possible, and USB tethering only works on later-model MB's and MBP's if you've downloaded the 3.0 SDK. I can link you to the carrier file I used (I'm on AT&T in USA)
     
  3. gillilandboy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    St. Louis MO
    #3
    Yes. I have the 3.0 SDK. I am on the latest non-unibody MacBook Pro. Do I have to enter any settings or anything different. Really just turn on the settings and go?
     
  4. Dan in PA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    #4
    You don't have to change any settings. Just install the custom carrier file, and if successful you'll be able to go into settings>general>network and enable tethering. I then plugged my phone in USB and went to the network settings where your airport etc stuff is. It was listed as Ethernet adaptor 3 or something like that..leave the boxes blank and select configure with DHCP, then apply. Your iPhone will probably crash and restart when plugged in, this happens only once...let me know how it goes.
     
  5. gillilandboy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    St. Louis MO
    #5
    Didn't work for me. I went to settings and turned on tethering then went to network settings on my macbook and I didn't see anything.
     
  6. Dan in PA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    #6
    Hmm. If you're able to turn tethering on, I'd imagine you've used the correct carrier update and the problem is on the computer side (just a guess)

    Anyone else?
     

Share This Page