3.06 Ghz iMac - which 4GB RAM to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ryansebiz, May 8, 2008.

  1. ryansebiz macrumors member

    ryansebiz

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #1
  2. ryansebiz thread starter macrumors member

    ryansebiz

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
  3. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    No probs buddy, and if you look at the first review its from someone who got an imac, and he gives it 5 stars :)
     
  4. mckandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    The person who wrote the newegg review of the RAM for his new imac wrote: "New iMac recongnized memory timings correclty."
    I am about to install 4GB of RAM in my new iMac that I purchased from OWC. How can I tell if the imac recognized memory timings correctly?
     
  5. chicagdan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    Bragger. I just saw the new iMacs at the Apple Store on Michigan Ave ... my iMac is only a year old, but I still had to restrain myself ... they look awesome.

    Anyway, I've always used OWC with my iMacs and have never had an issue ... they also accept trade in of RAM that comes with the machine. Great service too ... highly recommended.
     
  6. Foozle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #7
    I'm getting ready to buy a 3.06 ghz imac also and I thought it came standard with 2gb ram, so you'd only buy 1 more 2gb stick for the upgrade. Am I missing something here?
     
  7. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

    ktbubster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #8
    They come with 2 X 1gb of ram and the imac only has two memory slots, so to get to 4 you need to replace both 1gb sticks.
     
  8. Foozle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #9
    Ah, of course. Too bad - it makes the cost up upgrading a bit more expensive as you have to throw out the 2x1gbs. Are there rebate programs available for the unused sticks?
     
  9. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68020

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #10
    UH, NO, BUT THERE IS A SANTA CLAUS:eek:
     
  10. Foozle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #11
  11. bc008 macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    assuming this is still such a great deal on sunday, will this RAM work in a 2.0 GHz 20" aluminum iMac?
     
  12. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #13
    Yes it will.

    Its $60 after rebate, not $70. Pretty good deal.
     
  13. Doctorsti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    #14
  14. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    The original question though was if it works with the newest 1066MHz FSB iMacs and it appears that it does. I agree though that I wouldn't count on it working with the older 800MHz FSB iMac models or the Penryn MBPs though.
     
  15. Doctorsti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    #16
    my bad i'm a pc user typing on a gateway from 2001, i'll blame it on that!
     
  16. surferfromuk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
  17. PcBgone macrumors 6502

    PcBgone

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #18
    So if I bought this memory for my new Imac that I will be buying in the next 2 weeks, could I take out the memory in the new Imac, and use in it in my wifes SR Macbook?
     

Share This Page