3.0GM Tethering Help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Obsidian6, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Obsidian6 macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #1
    Ok I promise I searched and I couldn't find someone with the same issues I'm having.

    I upgraded to the 3.0GM when it was released, and I only just thought about doing the IPCC mod to get tethering on my phone. I followed the instructions, got it installed, and my macbook didn't see anything. Suddenly my iPhone does a reboot.

    Once it was back up, the carrier settings menu was still there but the tethering menu was gone. I did the carrier settings update again in itunes, and it's back, but I cannot get it to connect to my macbook at all.

    I would appreciate the help if possible!
     
  2. Obsidian6 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #2
    Ok I now was able to get it to show up on the menu but I still can't get it to connect.
     
  3. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Are you on AT&T? If so, they probably disabled tethering network side.
     
  4. Excellerator macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #4
    Nope, still working on AT&T for me. So its not that.
     
  5. Obsidian6 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #5
    Yes i'm on AT&T, my phone is not jailbroken or unlocked. It's running 3.0GM ( I did not attempt to install the 3.0 release from today because it's the same file.)

    I successfully updated the carrier settings to AT&T 5.0 (up from the 4.0 that came with OS 3.0)

    At first it showed the tethering menu, now it's disappeared again. If/when i get it to come back. How do I get it to communicate? Everyone's saying its so easy to do, but I am absolutely unable to get my macbook to pick up the signal with bluetooth OR usb.
     
  6. Obsidian6 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #6
    Ok I got the tethering menu back by re-installing the carrier settings update again (3rd time)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. copperz macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #7
    How do you even get that menu? How do you get the att 5.0??
     

Share This Page