3.1.2 and 3.1.3 mismatch

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rajdeepsingh7, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. rajdeepsingh7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #1
    I just bought a new iPhone 3GS 32GB with 3.1.2 installed on saturday. I not only jailbreaked it but also installed cydia. Then my brother decided to put another sim in the iPhone and now when I put my own sim in there (three) the iphone indicates that I have to plug it to the computer for itunes. iTunes then states that the iPhone is in recovery mode and thus,doesn't show the Name, Size or firmware level and asks for a restore + update to 3.1.3.

    As I never installed 3.1.3, is there any possibility of me getting my previous firmware back and running again; so I can indeed Jailbreak it? ( I have no need for unlocking at the moment ).

    Thankyou for all your contribution. :D
     
  2. tmatthews14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    This sounds like a tethered jailbreak. Did you turn the phone off? Because on the 3gs, if you turn it off, you will have to re-run your jailbreak program. So the iTunes thing is normal, but all you will have to do is plug your phone in again, and run either:
    1) redsn0w - just make sure you pick your 3.1.2 ipsw (wherever you have it saved on your computer) and make sure you check the box to just re-run the jailbreak for tethered phones.

    OR
    2)run blackra1n. this is a lot easier. i'd recommend this. just plug it in a click.


    then just wait for you phone to reboot, and it should be working, and jb again on your 3.1.2 fw.

    hope this helps.
     
  3. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    What the above user said should work, I just wanted to emphasize that you should NOT UPDATE TO 3.1.3!.

    One last time. DO NOT UPDATE AND RESTORE. Just run blackrain and your phone should boot fine.
     
  4. rajdeepsingh7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #4
    Update

    :D Update.
    As much as I would love to say that blackra1n or redsn0w worked.
    ...They both didn't.

    Blackra1n goes through the whole process, but the iPhone doesn't self reboot.
    So if you manually try and do it; it goes back to the 'Insert into Itunes screen'.
    So theres a fail there.

    And redsn0w gets to the stage where it dispays 'Activating' on the iPhone and goes no further.

    Both return to the 'Insert into Itunes screen'.

    There is no way I am updating to 3.13 so hopefully I can get this solved so I can use my phone again.

    Any ideas/tricks or advice on it or something I may be doing wrong.

    And something I forgot to add is; it's a iPhone with a new bootloader, so could that be something?

    Thanks =]
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    What you are describing is a tethered jailbreak. It is expected behavior on phones with the new bootrom. Read more about it here.
     
  6. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Right, the new bootloader is why you need to use the tethered jailbreak. That means you can't reboot your phone without it being plugged into redsn0w or blackra1n.

    I would check this thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=833099

    As well as this tutorial:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entries/index.php?caid=2&scid=11&seid=2

    On that tutorial list, look for the application you want (BR, or RS) and then chose your OS and phone. Then you do the jailbreak just like you did in the first place and it should boot up.
     
  7. rajdeepsingh7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #7
    Update Part II

    Alrighty.
    Absolutely awesome help guys.
    So this is it so far.
    I took the Blackra1n option and these steps.

    1) Insert iPhone into Computer. 'Please insert into Itunes' screen comes up.
    2) Initiate blackra1n
    3) Let it run.
    4) The 'Enjoy your jailbroken iPhone' screen, with the 'for tethered, run again to boot'
    I have tried rebooting it by a) turning it off and on from the power button
    or holding down both home and power buttons.
    They both result in blackra1n running again.
    ( I have not removed the iPhone from the computer.
    And when it says, your iPhone is now jailbroken,
    the blackra1n screen, with the Painting of the guy and various iPhones shows up on the iPhone screen.

    Where from here?
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    When blackra1n finishes the first time just close it, reopen it, and re-run blackra1n. Your phone should then boot.
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    When you see the guy you should just wait and it should reboot. At least according to the tutorials. I have a 3G and I haven't actually used redsn0w or blackra1n, so I can't verify anything for you.
     
  10. blaker13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #10
    my girls did the same....FIX*

    I have a older iphone 3gs so i dont do teather, i jb my girls and its newer, ran redsnow and that happened, i ran redsnow again and just picked boot instead of running the jb program, gave it a min and it started right up..:) but you have to select teather boot instead of install, piece of cake.
     
  11. rajdeepsingh7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #11
    =( No Luck.

    It doesn't reboot automatically at all.
    It just stays on the screen.
    Possible, must upgrade to 3.13 then?
    Or should I work at it more?
     

Share This Page