3.1.2 Install, Round in circles :(

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iHateMacs, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #1
    This new update is driving me mad.

    iTunes downloaded it ok and said it backing up my 3GS then it started to install. I said it could not complete because of an error.

    Then it said it discovered an iPhone in recovery mode. It started to recover. Then after a while it said it was all installed and the phone would restart.

    When the phone restarted it has the itunes logo and a plug thing on the screen and itunes says it's detected an iphone in recovery mode and tries to restore.

    I've done this three times now and always the same :(

    Ground hog day has nothing on this.

    What can I try to break out of this loop?

    Edit: Just finished again, iphone restarted with itunes logo and plug again on screen. Itunes now says "iTunes must check the iPhone software update server to identify this device"

    I click check then it says "itunes has detected an iPhone in recovery mode. You must restore this iPhone before it can be used with iTunes`" I click OK then I am left with the only button in iTunes to click which is `RESTORE`

    i click that and I get he Are you sure you want to restore .... etc etc "message then I click "RESTORE and UPDATE" button and we're off again.

    I see no end to this
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Put it in DFU mode. You're in recovery mode right now.
     
  3. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #3
    Oh right. I'll try that. Thanks
     
  4. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #4
    It started off differently and I'm sure some of the messages on iTunes were different, but when it was done, back to the same screen asking me to connect to iTunes :(


    EDIT AGAIN: Maybe it wasn't really in DFU mode. I tried again. This time it came up with the iTune and connector screen but also a slide for emergency calls thing on the bottom. I think it was activating.

    It seems ok now.
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Good it's working, but DFU mode is when you have a black screen when connecting to iTunes; recovery mode is when you have the USB icon. The USB icon will come on later in the process for DFU mode, so sounds like you got it there.
     
  6. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #6
    Well that seems to have been the easy part. Trying to coax iTunes to put my stuff back is not so easy.

    What does "The iPhone "Paul's iPhone" cannot be synced. The required disk cannot be found." mean?

    It did a backup before the update. You'd think it would just restore my data from that.

    Earlier on it put about 70% of my apps back, but when you tried to run them they'd flash then go back to the home screen.

    I wish I still had my Nokia 5.1 :(
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    I have no idea what you've done, but if I were you, I'd restore as new. It's really not that big of a deal. You should've synced most of your stuff before (at least you should have), so you can get contacts, music, and stuff like that back on easily. You just lose game saves and SMS and you'll have to reset wfi settings and a few other things.
     
  8. Dlanod macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Same problem here - had to do a restore and a restore from back-up. Grrrrr! And still blurry photos saved from email attachments. Come on Apple.
     
  9. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #9
    It's odd. It must have done something from the backup because my recent calls and SMS are intact.

    It just won't sync Apps now. I've had to download them all again direct on the phone. I fear what will happen if I sync the phone again. I don't think I'll try any time soon.
     
  10. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #10
    restarting my computer fixed errors i had with upgrading previous firmwares
     
  11. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #11
    I've got my old problem back now. In the iPod App when you advance to the next track it crashes and goes back to the home screen. I wish I'd never updated now.
     
  12. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #12
    Upgrade to 3.1.2 went fine. No problem with 3.1 either.

    S-
     
  13. nehunte macrumors 6502

    nehunte

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #13
    IMO, I think it makes good practice to restore as new every time you do a software update. It seems to have the least amount of issues. Plus, you're phone will run smoother on a consistent basis.

    I know that seems like a lot since there has been several updates here recently, but for the most part, you don't normally see software updates that often.
     
  14. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #14
    I don't follow your logic. Each time you do an update, you reinstall the entire OS and afterwards, the iPhone restarts to assure a clean install. There's no need to restore each and every time you update your device.
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    As I said above, it's really not a big deal to restore as new.

    And the problems the OP and others are having are due to restoring from a backup.
     
  16. soulghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #16
    I assure you it is a big deal if you've spent the last 4 weeks getting to a worldwide ranking of 30 in Baseball Slugger.
     
  17. Jazzandmetal? macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #17
    I restored my phone the other day to "fix" a reception problem per apple care and lost my 1,150,000 high score in Bookworm.:mad:
     
  18. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #18
    I'm responding to the OP, who didn't mention that game saves were important. I also mentioned that restoring as new would lose the game saves. For those who have his problem and have game saves, it becomes an issue of phone out of restore mode or having games saves, but the phone doesn't work.
     
  19. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #19
    Anyone have any ideas why the iPod app has started to crash each time when changing to the next track? Sometimes when it get to the end naturally you can hear a split second of the next track before it goes back to the home page.

    It is REALLY annoying :( It was fine before 3.1.2
     
  20. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #20
    Are you on a 3G? If so, I'm thinking you might want to downgrade.
     
  21. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #21
    No it's a 3GS.

    I had the problem before but I'm sure it was on my previous phone, a 3G. It somehow fixed itself then.

    I don't fancy doing another restore :(
     
  22. nehunte macrumors 6502

    nehunte

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #22
    In case you haven't been answered yet, it is logical cause when you do a backup, a lot of problems will still happen (experience shows me, but don't know exact reason why). My recommendation was to restore as new, which means you would re-sync everything back onto your phone (pain in the ass, I know). But, as you've probably read so far, you lose game saves and some other things of that nature that are not replaceable (SMS,MMS). If you've already found this out and this was a waste of your time, sorry. Hope someone else found it useful.
     
  23. ozzyman500 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #23
    Installed fine for me. Some reason though I always like to do a DFU/restore when the new firmware's come out. I don't mind losing game data and it doesn't take long to sync music up either.
     
  24. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #24
    There must be something wrong with my PC I think. I tried a complete restore this afternoon from DFU mode and it just kept failing.

    I tried it on my MBP and it worked fine. My music library is on windows so I still have to use that for synching.

    I'll be glad when I can afford to dump Windows and stay with mac all of the time.
     
  25. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #25
    It's probably not Windows, but you're iTunes install. You might want to try a reinstall, or perhaps uninstall and reinstall.
     

Share This Page