3.2 Ghz Processors in 2008 MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NoManIsland, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. NoManIsland macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #1
    I've noticed that on apple parts sites, such as this one, the logic boards for the 3.2 Ghz and the 2.8/3.0 Ghz models are listed separately: what are the differences, and does this mean I can't buy two 3.2 Ghz processors and put them into my 2.8 Ghz octo?
     
  2. JustSomeDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #2
    This thread indicates you can't and states reasons for it.
     
  3. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #3
    i am not too sure that thread applies as they are talking about going from one socket to two, where as old mate already has an Oct (read dual socket)...

    that said though, there are not many threads about that talk about upgrading the cpu's in the 2008 mac pro, theres plenty for the 2006/2007, but hardly any for the 2008.

    i would be pretty intrested in this aswell, and i would be putting a bit of hope into a pin mod as the 3.2 is actually the same chip... (or so i am led to believe)

    anyone have any real time experience with this?
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    You can put two X5482 in any 2008 Mac Pro. The difference between the logic board has most likely something to do with the cooling as X5482 is 150W while others are 80W, meaning that better cooling is needed to dissipate the extra 70W :)eek:). It will still work though, the fans just may run at a higher rpm.

    However, make sure to get SLANZ model as that has C0 stepping that will work with Mac Pro. SLBBG has E0 stepping that is not compatible with Mac Pro (thus X5492 does not work).

    The single CPU 2008 Mac Pro actually came with a single CPU but with two sockets, so it was possible to add another CPU later on to make it an 8-core.
     
  5. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #5
    Would suggest you use smcfancontrol to bump up the fans if your going to do the upgrade. I used this program on both of my 06 and 08 Mac pro's when I edited video on them to help keep it cool instead of waiting for the system to increase them after a certain threshold.
     
  6. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #6
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    The original 2.8GHz quads are indeed E5462. E5472 will work fine, as long as you get the SLANR version as that has C0 stepping.
     
  8. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #8
    thanks for the fast reply HellHammer, mate, do you also know if its possible to pin mod the E5462 to a E5472?

    cheers
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    No idea about the pin mod but you could overclock it with this utility. 200MHz OC should be fine as E5462 and E5472 are the same chips with different CPU multiplier. You could even clock it higher as long as you're fine with the noise level and it stays stable.
     
  10. daustin21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #10
    So with the logic board accepting the 3.2, can the 2.8/3.0 heatsinks suffice with upgraded fan control?

    I assume the 3.2 heatsinks are purpose built to diffuse that extra 70W, but that would be a big expense to need to upgrade those at 150+ea in addition to the CPUs.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    With extra fan speed, definitely. Here is one thread about such upgrade
     
  12. NoManIsland thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #12
    Are there any CPUs more powerful than the 3.2 Ghz that can be installed in the 2008 Mac Pro? I seem to remember a 3.4 Ghz in the same family...
     
  13. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #14
    yeah, we know there are /other/ higher ghz cpus, listed in the same xeon family, but is there micro code in the 2008 pro that allows these to boot, i would imagine that is what old mate is wondering about...
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    3.4GHz i.e. X5492 does not work due to incompatible stepping (E0).
     
  15. NoManIsland thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #16
  16. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
  17. NoManIsland thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
  18. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    I would probably consider selling your current Mac Pro and buy a new one, once it gets updated.

    I doubt you will see that much of a difference going from 2.80 Ghz to 3.20 Ghz and if it is worth spending $600 in the progress.

    You should easily be able to hit 3.20 Ghz by overclocking with your current processors.
     
  19. NoManIsland thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #20
    I made a decision when I bought this computer that I wished to keep it indefinitely. I'm sick of the cycle of consumption and waste that shows up more prevalently in electronics then in virtually any other category of product. I'm allowing myself to upgrade the MP to the limit of its capacity, and I've been collecting replacement parts to keep the machine going as components fail, but I have no interest in discarding the machine for a new one. That said, upgrading the processors is a natural step, and I do not want to overclock as the increased strain on the processors makes me concerned that it may shorten their lifespan.
     
  20. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #21
    By all means, didn't mean to disrespect you.

    I am still rocking a 2008 Mac Pro with some upgrades myself.
     
  21. NoManIsland thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #22
    Oh no, don't worry, I didn't mean to come off as offended, just explaining my rationale for this upgrade :)
     

Share This Page