3 Chimes at start up.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mfka, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. mfka macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #1
    Mac Pro 2.1 (2007)
    Clovertown 2 x 3 GHz Quad
    8 GB 667 MHz

    I have this problem for quite some time now but i was to
    lazy to deal with it. Since i’m upgrading a lot of stuff in my MP
    it is time to fix that to.

    I talked with some guys who told me that it might be bad RAM,
    however i ran some memory tests and everything went ok.
    BTW i don’t get ret light on RAM plates which usually indicates
    bad memory.

    I even tried to relocate dongles and exclude some of them and
    always with same result. I did not tried every combination though.

    So my question is, should i just buy new memory or there is something
    more i should check?

    Thank you in advance,

    mfka
     
  2. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
    Have you tried swapping the RAM out to try and eliminate any possibilities of a bad bank? Just a thought.
     
  3. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Sometimes it could be caused by a really simple problem.. did you try shuffling the modules about? (assuming you have more than 2 modules installed)
     
  4. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #4
    I did some of them, not all combinations though.


    Did that too.

    This is current positions of the modules.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #5
    I would think that its bad RAM or one of your DIMM slots has died.

    From Apple.

    Anyways, try taking out everything but a pair and try booting. start adding pairs until you nail the one that's causing you problem. If the 2006 MacPro had daughterboards for the RAM, one of those could have died as well.

    EDIT-Speedy internet! Sorry for redundancy.
     
  6. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #6
    I would continue to swap them out until I have eliminated any possibility of one bad module before attempting to look any further.
     
  7. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #7
    Ok, i’ll take them all now, i just hope it is not dead DIMM slot as Dr.Pants said it might be.
     
  8. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    Personally I ain't tried it but what happens if you take out one of the memory daughter boards?
     
  9. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #9
    Never tried that.
    I'm in the process of swapping the modules BTW.

    P.S.

    I just noticed something weird. When i swap the modules turn on
    chimes one, and than with same setup boot in w7 still ok and after
    booting from w7 back to SL get 3 chimes again.
     
  10. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #10
    Now i tried that, it boots normally.
     
  11. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #11
    ok, a little lost. What's "w7" Windows 7 ??
     
  12. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #12
    Yes, it is windows 7.
    I was unable to locate bad RAM yesterday because i discover to late
    that it is not enough to restart just once until 3 chimes shows up. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page