3 Displays with Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CajunCARTFan, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. CajunCARTFan macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    What would be the best way to run 3 displays on my Mac Pro? The Matrox TripleHead2Go or adding another VGA to my Mac? Would love to know the pros and cons of each choice.
     
  2. aliot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #2
    I'm not sure will Matrox cards works on mac pro(driver?),but I will say that two video card is the most stable way to do that,like 2 7300gt or so.
     
  3. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    Best way is to get 2-3 dedicated PCI graphics cards. Depends what model MP you have.
     
  4. CajunCARTFan thread starter macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #4
    I have the newest iteration of the Mac Pro. I am considering getting the EVGA GTX 285 and nVidia GT 120 to run a three display setup. I game on Windows using Bootcamp and the GTX 285 has better performance than the ATI 4870. I also read that when using Windows you need to have the same type of graphics cards i.e. 2 nVidia's or 2 ATI's, not mixed.
     
  5. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    Yes you need 2 identical cards to enable SLI (if the cards are designed for this setup).

    Run the 285 on the centre screen. and the other 2 on the 120. You can also run the centre screen one of the others on the 285 as well assuming you have DVI connections.
     
  6. CajunCARTFan thread starter macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #6
    I'm not planning on running SLI as these cards won't support that. I thought this would be the best way to do it but I wanted to be sure. Thanks for the help. I have 2x20" Dells and 1x26" Vizio that I wanted to run.
     
  7. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #7
    I'm pretty sure the ATI 4870's can be SLI'd together in windose. But has 1x DVI and 1x MDP

    Where as the GTX 285 has 2x DVI
     
  8. CajunCARTFan thread starter macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #8
    Is it possible to have 2 ATI 4870's in the Mac Pro?
     
  9. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #9
  10. CSHawkeye81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #10


    I run 2 x GT120's in my mac pro at work. Use 2 24 Cinema Displays and a 20 inch off to the side connected to one of the dvi ports. I could add another if I wanted too.
     
  11. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #11
    Some points to consider

    ATI cards crossfire and don't SLI. The Apple 4870 doesn't crossfire at all. Only flashed 4870 do in Windows.

    2x4870 exceed by far the PCIe spec and can blow your PSU. External PSU is the way to go if you must have.

    285 + 120 seems by far the best option IMO.
     
  12. CajunCARTFan thread starter macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #12
    Yeah I have decided to go with the GTX 285 and the GT 120 option. I can hook my main display to the 285 and the side displays to the 120. I have a DVI to MDP adapter already as I am running 2 displays on the ATI 4870.
     
  13. MacProCpo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #13
    My 08 Mac Pro must have some sort of super stock PSU because I run two flashed 4870/512mb cards(CF'd in Vista 64), 4 1tb drive, and 16 gigs of RAM :confused: One card is powered by the two power ports on the mobo, the other is powered via the extra molex and a Y-cable in the OD Bay

    I run two 22" Dells on one card and a 24" Dell on the second and they've run flawlessly to date (knock on wood). I may be setting the gear up for failure but i've not experienced any problems with heating or excessive power draw (as monitored on iStat).
     
  14. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #14
    Not all 4870 are created equal. The 1 GB RAM versions pull more juice and taking that much power from the ODD bay would be dangerous with one of the cards with more memory.
     
  15. MacProCpo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #15
    I absolutely agree! That's why I went with the 512mb boards. I would have gone with dual 4850s but I can't seem to figure out the whole injector, Netkas methods thing (I don't know why but flashing cards was easier for me). I needed three monitors so I went with the flashed 4870s. I guess I could throw back in the 2600 for one of the 4870 if power becomes a problem. I like being able to CF in Windows though. I still would like to figure out how two make the 4850s work just to cut down on the wiring in the case and give me room for a RAID card. I'll eventually go to a one card 5870 setup after all is figured out and made stable.

    OP, sorry, didn't mean to lead the thread astray....
     
  16. maghemi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #16
    I've gone with a 4870 and x1900xt. the x1900 is powered from the second ODD power connector.
     

Share This Page