3 monitors on my MP 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hitek79, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. hitek79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #1
    So I've done quite a bit of research on this, and here's my idea.

    I upgraded my old ATI card to a 5770 so that I could run FCPX. Did the upgrade, everything worked great. I have since decided to add a third monitor since I thought it would be as easy as just plugging it in, but obviously that's not the case. I'm trying to avoid buying those $100 DVI adapters, so I'm wondering if I can just throw my old ATI card back in to run the third monitor on it's own. Possible, or not?
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    If I remember correctly, the adapter wouldn't help anyway. Use the 2nd card. Especially since you have it already and it's pretty trivial to stick it in.
     
  3. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #3
    All you need is a $30 active DVI to display port adapter. I have a 5770 in my Mac Pro 3,1 driving three 23" LED monitors. One is plugged into the single DVI connector, the other two into the display ports using Active DVI to DP adapters. The key is ACTIVE, the ones you get at the apple store are PASSIVE.

    This is all you need, but you'll likely need two, one for each display port.

    http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B087B-...1ZXA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1333039782&sr=8-1
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Right piece linked, but for ease of understanding they are referred to as "Mini Displayport TO DVI"

    The signal starts in MDP and is adapted TO DVI. Nit picky? Perhaps but if people don't follow the link and just buy a "DVI to display port adapter" they will in fact get the OPPOSITE of what they need.
     
  5. hitek79 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #5
    I'm going to try the old video card first as I would prefer to spend zero dollars than $70 :)
     
  6. hitek79 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #6
    How the hell do I find where I plug in the cable to power the old card? Is it hidden behind that plastic housing where the cards slide in?
     

Share This Page