3 or 4GB on a C2D mini or iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by flopticalcube, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #1
    I was wondering whether any of the brave people who have converted their minis or CD iMacs to C2D have tried using 3GB or even 4GB of RAM? Does it work the same as the MacBooks in that you get 3.3GB of usable RAM+dual channel mode? Is the mini or iMac stuck at 2GB?
     
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    The Mac Mini is stuck at 2GB, because it uses the Core Duo (all macs with Core Duos were stuck at 2GB) the iMac however can utilize up to 3.3GB or whatever number you stated.
     
  3. flopticalcube thread starter macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Which is why I said
    Anyone?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    If it is a C2D iMac.
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    Sorry, I missed that part. I am not 100% sure, but I do believe that even if you change the processor to a Core 2 Duo the chipset itself is still limited to 2GB of RAM, as it was back when the Core Duo processor was in there.
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    Yes, this is my understanding as well. No more than 2 gigs in a Mini due to chipset limitation.
     
  7. flopticalcube thread starter macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    That's kind of what I'm trying to confirm. The MacBook C2Ds have the same chipset as the MacBook CDs but they can take the extra RAM. Same thing for the iMacs. The minis and the iMacs are the only processor-upgradeable Macs based on the 945 chipset. I would like to know if a simple processor swap enables the extra RAM capability.
     
  8. negatv1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    MI
    #8
    I have a 1.66ghz Core2Duo in my Mini, when I get a chance I'm going to swap in a 2gb so-dimm out of my macbook pro to test the theory if it is a chipset limitation or if it is a limitation due to the CPU.
     
  9. flopticalcube thread starter macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    That would be great! Thanks a lot.
     

Share This Page