30" ACD getting use to + optimal distance question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Gloor, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Gloor macrumors 6502a

Hi,
    as some of you noticed I have new 30" ACD. It's my first 30" screen and I have few questions I would like to ask those of you who use 30" for some time.

1) I feel a bit dizzy (not much but just slightly) is that normal before I get used to it?
    2) I sit around 90cm from the screen - is that enough or should it be more?
    3) What color profile should I use? HD cinema or Adobe RGB? I don't do editing as I work with Maya and do animation etc. but I would like to have the best out of this screen so any advice how to achieve that would help. P.s.: I have never done color calibration so keep in mind that I am a noob when it comes to that. :)))

Thanks for help guys.

2. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

AdeFowler

It is a bit overwhelming isn't it? ;)

It took me a couple of weeks to adjust, and I still prefer web-browsing on my PowerBook. I sit about 70-90cm from the screen and I'm fine most of the time. I do use zoom (Command-Option-8) quite often when entering small text.

I use the supplied Cinema Display profile.

3. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

Weird thing happened and I don't know how to solve it. I was trying your Command-Option-8 thing but I wasn't sure what option key is (alt, control or shift) so I tried them one by one and then pressed all of them. Well, my colors inverted now and everything looks like if I was using Sepia (not sure if its the right filter) and I don't know how to put it back. I tried restart and I tried changing color profiles for the screen but nothing happened. Anyone now what it is???

Pic:

http://img184.imageshack.us/img184/9975/img0923ab6.jpg

4. geefourfivesix macrumors newbie

Pop into 'Universal Access' and there should be an option for high contrast or something like that to turn it off.