30" Dell 2008 LCD w/ MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adamjackson, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. adamjackson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I have a 30" Dell LCD that's hooked up to my Dell PC. I live in a small studio apartment so it serves as my television (blu-ray, cable, PS3).

    I want to hook both my MacBook Pro (17" 3.06Ghz) & MacBook Air (2.13" SSD) up to my 30" (not at the same time of course)

    Both have the 9400 chip and are mini-display port.

    My 30" has a display port, HDMI, DVI and VGA inputs.

    What connector do I need to hook up my laptops to it? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
  3. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
  4. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #4
    Ok. so I'll get the display port cable. it's more expensive but I guess I need it :p
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
  6. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #6
    But that doesn't mean there are cables or devices supporting it yet. Even HDMI 1.3 devices are rare and those would support 2560x1600. The Dell 3008WFP only goes to 1920x1200 using HDMI anyway and most HDMI cables only support up to that resolution since they're primarily meant for TVs.

    Not to mention since Displayport is the tech on the Macbook, mini-Displayport to regular Displayport should be the easiest conversion and should avoid the problems of the Dual Link DVI adapter.
     
  7. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #7
    I have a dell 30 inch. Ya need the dual link dvi for max res.
     
  8. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #8
    Not if you have Mini/DisplayPort...

    Might want to be careful before you start dishing out "advice"
     
  9. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #9
    Today I got the Mini-Displayport to Displayport cable I linked earlier in this thread. Works perfectly with my Macbook Pro 13" and Dell 3008WFP A02 revision.

    No problems so far, it was a ******** cheaper than the Dual-Link DVI adapter from Apple too. I can now also use the picture-by-picture feature to get display on both of my computers - desktop PC connected via dual-link DVI cable and Macbook Pro laptop, though both will only show side by side and slightly distorted (single link?) so you have to zoom in to use 'em comfortably. Great when I need to do some small thing on the PC though.
     
  10. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #10
    thanks for the update!
     
  11. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #11
    Can you please post a screenshot of OSX at full resolution? I want to see the proportions.
     
  12. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #12

    Maybe someone else can. I need to get the cables first. Resolution is 2560x1600 I think . I have the monitor plugged into my Vista machine right now. want a pic of that? :p
     
  13. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #13
    Hm? I have a mini display port, it's a brand new macbook pro, 30 days old. You need a dual link if you want max res.
     
  14. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #14
    Only if you're using DVI. If you are wanting to use the DisplayPort on the monitor, then you can achieve full resolution with a mini displayport -> displayport adapter/cable, like kasakka noted. Much cheaper and reliable than Apple's Dual-Link DVI adapter.
     
  15. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #15
  16. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #16
    No you don't if your monitor has a display port input.
     
  17. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #17

    Nah. I just wanted to see how the dock expands.:eek:
     
  18. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #18
    Exactly like it would on any other monitor. Depending on the Dock size you can certainly fit a ******** of programs there.
     

Share This Page