30" external display?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sejanus, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. sejanus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #1
    hi guys

    can the current mac mini run a 30" external display? it would just be for slideshows.

    thanks
     
  2. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #2
    imagine spending all that money to bore people . . .

    As long as the panel's resolution isn't something wacky, it should be fine
     
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    Yes, with the advent of DisplayPort, the latest iMacs are now capable of running displays with the typical 30" resolution...all prior iMacs were limited to 1920x1200, which is a 24" or so.

    To run a 30" monitor at its native resolution, however, you will need to buy the $100 Dual-link DVI to Mini-DisplayPort adapter from Apple. Depending on how far back people are sitting from this thing, you may be better off just picking up a 30-40" HDTV, which will be cheaper than a 30" monitor and wouldn't need the $100 adapter (just a cheaper one).
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Ask about all models of computer in one thread instead of making duplicates, please.
     
  5. joe1946 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #5
    I use my 47" 1080p HDTV with my 2.26Ghz 4GB Mac Mini and it looks great on it for photos or anything else.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. sejanus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
  7. Works4Me macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    My concern is related, but I'm hoping that, with all the mini-display port > dual-link DVI adapter issues we're hearing about with the MB pros, an iMac will be able to run my 30" Dell without issues. I really doubt it though...
     
  8. nickcliborne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Nut house
    #8
    Sceen size isn't important. You're running 1920x1080 and he wants to run 2560x1600
     
  9. Oi-Oi-Oi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    This thread has most of the answers for you:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=665651

    Hopefully Apple will fix the issue, which everyone seems to be having (mbp, mm etc) soon like they did with the mdp to vga adapter, see here:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3492

    I 'd love to know if sejanus has any issues with the Apple Cinema display and this adapter .... can you tell us?
     
  10. Oi-Oi-Oi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    This is a duplicate of what I've just posted in the New Mac Mini 2009 running at 2560x1600 thread:

    Been doing some digging on Apple's support website and have found this:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3382

    As you can see on the page, it clearly says that it will work with any 30" screen, such as the 30-inch Apple Cinema Display HD. It's doesn't say that it ONLY works with Apple's product. :cool:
     
  11. nuwomb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #11
    I am considering a 30-40" HDTV in the future with a macpro. oh gosh. the power and the screen size.
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    That you can get from a 24" display...
     
  13. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #13
    That's great, but the OP is talking about a 30" monitor, which has a much higher resolution than an HDTV. I don't know why you'd want to work on an HDTV...who cares how big it is, the pixel density is going to be so low you'll have to sit 10 feet away from it. A 30" monitor is best for big desktop work.
     

Share This Page