30" HD Cinema Displays

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wonderspark, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    Did they ever make them without Mini Display Port?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    They never made them with a minidisplay port.
     
  3. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Apple 30" displays use DVI, only the 24" uses MiniDisplay Port. See the product page.
     
  4. wonderspark thread starter macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Ah, so which adapter would be best to hook up two DVI monitors, one Dell and the other an Apple 30"?

    The dual link one, or just mdp to dvi?
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    The 30" ADC has to have the Dual-Link DVI, then to connect to DVI sources to the same output, you would need a DVI splitter, which can easily be found at places like Tiger Direct or Monoprice.

    TEG
     
  6. wonderspark thread starter macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    WOW, I got my ACD today, and it's just HUGE! Also got dual link adapter, and I noticed something strange...

    In settings, I rearranged the monitor locations by dragging them to the other side of each other, to match their physical locations. My Geektool items disappeared, but a couple were peeking out from the far side of one screen. I flipped them back, and there they were. My mouse arrow couldn't reach the ones to the left prior to that, and was as if there was an invisible third screen, if you follow me. It's like it wants a third monitor plugged in or something!
     

Share This Page